So long 2011, hello 2012!

First of all, a very happy New Year to you all. Fingers crossed it will be a happy and healthy one for us all.

2011 kicked off with the Golden Globes in January followed by the Orange British Academy Film Awards and the 83rd Academy Awards. Colin Firth reigned supreme and took home all the Best Actor awards for his performance in The King’s Speech. Natalie Portman was his female counterpart and received the Best Actress accolades for her performance in Black Swan.

2011: A fantastic year

The nominees for the 84th Academy Awards, which will be hosted by Billy Crystal on 26th February, are due to be announced 24th January while the nominees for the Orange British Academy Film Awards, which will be held 12th February, will be announced 17th January.

The nominees for the 69th Golden Globes, which are taking place on the 15th, have already been announced. Leading the nominations is The Descendants, The Ides of March and Midnight in Paris.

In between all the sequels, remakes and prequels, 2011 was a great year in cinema. I kicked off the year with 127 Hours and ended with Arthur Christmas. I saw 25 films throughout the year though there were many, many more that I would have liked to have seen.

 

 

 

10 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
9 Real Steel
8 Thor
X-Men: First Class
True Grit
The Guard
Drive
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Midnight in Paris
The King’s Speech

I enjoyed each of these films for very different reasons. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 was a bittersweet finale to Harry’s epic saga while Rise of the Planet of the Apes exceeded my expectations after a poor teaser trailer and left me marvelling at Andy Serkis’ wonderful motion capture performance.

Drive featured one of the coolest soundtracks released this year while catapulting its leading man, Ryan Gosling, into the hearts of critics and movie goers alike.

X-Men: First Class was everything I hoped for, and James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender certainly proved worthy counterparts to Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen.

Thor and Real Steel left me thoroughly entertained and laughing in the cinema aisle while True Grit featured stunning performances by Jeff Bridges and Hailee Steinfeld. Both were, in my opinion, highly deserving of their Oscar nominations.

The Guard brought together the unlikely double act of Brendan Gleeson and Don Cheadle but it certainly worked.

However, it was Midnight in Paris and The King’s Speech that stole my heart and made me fall in love with the cinema all over again. The King’s Speech just had the edge over Midnight in Paris though they are both films that I know I will come back to year after year after year.

Looking forward to 2012

There is one film that I am literally counting down the days – 347 days, to be exact – until, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. Director by Peter Jackson and starring Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen and Richard Armitage, I cannot wait to be transported back to Middle-earth. The second part of the films, The Hobbit: There and Back Again, will be released in December 2013.

PJ has posted several production videos from the set of the The Hobbit, which can be viewed on his Facebook page here. The latest video was posted on the 23rd and explains the logistics of location shooting.

Seven other films I don’t want to miss

  • The Avengers (27th April)
    Dir: Joss Whedon Starring: Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans, Liam Hemsworth
    The Daddy of all comic book adaptations, Nick Fury (Samuel L Jackson) unites Iron Man (Downey Jr), Thor (Hemsworth), Captain America (Evans) and The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo) in order to destroy Loki (Tom Hiddleston).
  • Prometheus (1st June)
    Dir: Ridley Scott Starring: Noomi Rapace, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender
    While little is known about the plot, the current official synopsis explains that a team of explorers discover a clue to the origins of mankind on Earth, leading them on a thrilling journey to the darkest corners of the universe. There, they must fight a terrifying battle to save the future of the human race.
  • The Dark Knight Rises (20th July)
    Dir: Christopher Nolan Starring: Christian Bale, Gary Oldman, Tom Hardy
    The conclusion to the Nolan-Bale series, the film begins eight years after the events of The Dark Knight. Tom Hardy stars as Bane, a super criminal who plans to destroy the city.
  • The Bourne Legacy (17th August)
    Dir: Tony Gilroy Starring: Jeremy Renner, Rachel Weisz, Edward Norton
    Gilroy, the screenwriter of the first three films, takes the Bourne franchise in a new direction in the shape of Renner. Renner stars as Aaron Cross, a new CIA operative in the Treadstone universe.
  • Dredd (21st September)
    Dir: Pete Travis Starring: Karl Urban, Olivia Thirlby, Lena Headey
    This film has been a long time coming: the first image from the set was circulated in late 2010. Urban takes on the role of Judge Dredd, the most feared of elite Street Judges, with the power to enforce the law, sentence offenders and execute them on the spot – if necessary.
  • Skyfall (26th October)
    Dir: Sam Mendes Starring: Daniel Craig, Judi Dench, Javier Bardem
    Otherwise known as Bond 23, the film’s plot details have been kept securely under wraps. What is known is that Bardem will be the film’s main villain, and that Bond’s loyalty to M will be tested as her past comes back to haunt her.
  • Django Unchained (26th December)
    Dir: Quentin Tarantino Starring: Jamie Foxx, Kurt Russell, Samuel L Jackson
    Production is well under way on QT’s newest flick, which is a Western about the revenge of a slave on his former master. Foxx has been cast as Django while Jackson will play Stephen, a wise, proud house slave. Kurt Russell has been cast as Ace Woody, a “vile and sadistic trainer of slaves who are forced to fight in death matches for a plantation owner”.

The Best of the Rest

Haywire (18th January)
Underworld: Awakening
(20th January)
The Grey
(27th January)
The Woman in Black (10th February)
John Carter (9th March)
The Raven (9th March)
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen (9th March)
We Bought a Zoo (16th March)
The Hunger Games (23rd March)
Dark Shadows (11th May)
Snow White and the Huntsman (1st June)
Rock of Ages (8th June)
Jack the Giant Killer (15th June)
The Amazing Spider-Man (4th July)
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (2nd August)
Brave (17th August)
Total Recall
(22nd August)
The Expendables 2 (TBC)
The Great Gatsby (TBC)

  • What films are you looking forward to? Leave a comment and let’s get chatting!

22 thoughts on “So long 2011, hello 2012!

Add yours

  1. The King’s Speech above Midnight in Paris? Really?! 😉 Na, I’m kidding, it’s a great top ten list. There are three movies I am really, really anticipating for 2012; Von Trier’s THE NYMPHOMANIAC, Michael Haneke’s LOVE and P.T. Anderson’s THE MASTER.

    Happy New Year, Claire!

  2. Quite some similarities in your top 10. The Guard almost made my top 10 as well, it was so funny.

    I know if you only had to see one movie this year it would be The Hobbit 🙂

    1. Hehe, I plan on seeing The Hobbit at least five times 😛

      The Guard was just one of those quirky, dark comedy dramas that really, really worked. Gleeson and Cheadle did a fantastic job.

    1. I really loved Real Steel – it was great fun and pure escapism. Hugh Jackman isn’t bad on the eye either!

      And yes, yes we do! I’ll get your people to talk to my people 😀

  3. I’m certainly looking forward to all of those films in 2012; though I can’t believe after having seen the trailer we have to wait a year until The Hobbit is out. I didn’t know about the Bourne film though. I’m probably most looking forward to Prometheus, I hope I’m not disappointed. Guiltily, I’m probably also looking forward to seeing Phantom Menace in 3D; damn you George Lucas!

    1. The Hobbit films sure have been a long time coming… I’m sure there will be lots more trailers and production videos to whet our appetite 😀

      Haha, you big kid. I hope you enjoy Phantom Menace!

  4. Just watched The Guard a few days ago and thought it was brilliant!

    I think 2012 is shaping up to be a great year for blockbusters…like you I’m really looking forward to The Hobbit…it will hopefully be a great way to round off a great year. Fingers crossed!

    1. Glad you enjoyed it, Dan. There were a couple of scenes where I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or not 😛

      I have faith in PJ and I’m sure The Hobbit will be an excellent way to end the year.

  5. YES!! Glad you loved Midnight in Paris! I truly loved that gem of a film!!! woohoo!!

    A nice list you have here! I know you can’t wait for The Hobbit! I am excited to see it but I think I am even more excited for YOU to see it!

    Oh, and I am still jealous that you all get The Avengers before we do here in the US.

    1. Awww, thanks T. I wish we could all go see it together!

      When is The Avengers out in the US? Sometimes release dates work in the UK’s favour 😛

  6. Happy New Year, Claire! A lot of your top 10s are in mine as well. I actually put The King’s Speech in my top 5 of last year’s.

    I’ll be watching the Oscars now /w Billy Crystal back as host, not so much w/ the Globes, I can’t stand Gervais and his mean-spirited remarks. I don’t care what he believes or don’t believe but I just don’t find his jokes to be funny at all.

    1. Happy new year to you, too! 😀

      The King’s Speech wasn’t released over here until early January, like Black Swan and 127 Hours. I was so jealous when everyone was praising it and saying that King Colin had to win the Oscar because I hadn’t seen it 😛

      I’m with you about Gervais. I’ve never liked his TV shows or stand up. Very much looking forward to Billy Crystal, though!

      1. I know, right? In a perfect world, I would LOVE to have movies released all over the globe at the same time! I’m so bummed I haven’t seen Coriolanus yet and it’s been released in the UK for a few months now 😦

  7. Great Top 10 list, Claire! I haven’t seen Midnight In Paris yet (I am hopefully getting a chance to next week!) but all the others I agree with.

    No mention of Pixar’s Brave for your must-see upcoming film selection? Hmm…..

  8. Interesting top ten list Claire. I have to do an upcoming films I’m looking forward to post. I like the inclusion of Thor and Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Two blockbusters I was fund of, but just didn’t make my top 10.

    1. Thanks, Max. I got so much enjoyment out of Thor and Apes so I thought they were very worthy of making my list.

      I look forward to reading your upcoming films post!

      1. I almost didn’t see ‘The Hobbit’ listed up there. I was going to have a shock that you wouldn’t put it on top. Then I looked again and saw it had it’s own space.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑