[Musical Monday] The Wizard of Oz

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend. I can’t believe it’s the 9th of January already…

So, to today’s Musical Monday post, the charming The Wizard of Oz. Released in 1939, the film shot 17-year-old Judy Garland to stardom for her portrayal of the film’s heroine, Dorothy Gale. After being swept away from her home in a tornado, Dorothy is stranded in a magical land called Oz. Together with her new friends – The Scarecrow, The Tin Man and The Cowardly Lion – she must find the mysterious wizard who may be able to help her get back home.

The film received many Academy Award nominations including Best Picture. While it missed out on that award, Gone With The Wind took it home instead, it did win the Academy Awards for Best Music – Original Score and Best Music – Original Song for ‘Over the Rainbow’.

While ‘Over the Rainbow’ is undoubtedly one of the most well-known and loved songs from the film, I have a soft spot for the recurring song ‘We’re Off to See the Wizard’, which is sung every time one of Dorothy’s companions join her.

15 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] The Wizard of Oz”

      1. The movie played last month in the cinema and I really wanted to check it out, but unfortunately wasn’t able. Would have loved to see it on the big screen.

    1. You know, I’ve never seen that. Is it worth a watch? I’ve read Wicked and Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire. They’re about Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West and are very good books. I still haven’t seen Wicked the Musical yet, though…

    2. Well Scott, I don’t love OZ, but primarily because I have never seen it! Generally I avoid musicals, so I’ve never felt the desire to see it (my wife is adamant that I do though!). I did however catch most of Return to Oz over Christmas, which I thought was just a bit silly; though I did quite like the effects on the faces in the rocks.

      Don’t worry though Claire, I’m still listening to the tunes!

      1. Haha, get it watched Russ! I don’t avoid musicals per se but there aren’t many that I’ll watch over and over again.

        Well, I hope you are enjoying the music 😛 I’ve got one in mind for the future that I know you’ll love.

  1. Sorry Claire but I actually have never seen The Wizard of Oz [hides behind a chair]… but I do LOVE the song ‘Over the Rainbow’… it’s been used in lots of contemporary films and I always love hearing it.

  2. Such an awesome film – I ordered it from Amazon on Bluray just last week. Anybody who hasn’t seen the restored version in HD yet is missing out: it’s one of the best restoration jobs on an older film I’ve ever seen.

      1. I’m waiting for the upcoming To Kill A Mockingbird BluRay releas to hit the shelf! There’s a film that will hopefully look amazing on Blu…. if the studio puts money into it.

        Love me some classics on Blu. Citizen Kane’s another that is well served with a HD upgrade.

  3. Claire, Thank you for posting this on Musical Monday!

    unbeknownst to you, Somewhere Over The Rainbow is my absolute favorite song of all time. It has a very special meaning to me from birth…literally. No joke!

    One of the first songs I learned to play on my cello as well. Couldn’t be more pleased with this edition of “MM”!

    -T (previously TheScarletSp1der)

    1. Oh wow, I didn’t know that! I’m so glad I chose this one 😀

      I’d love to know why it’s so special to you. A feel a post all about this song coming on at The Focused Filmographer…!

Leave a Reply

