Favourites Friday – Blade Runner

Blade Runner (1982)

Director: Ridley Scott
Starring: Harrison Ford, Rutger Hauer, Daryl Hannah

From the opening sequence revealing a futuristic Los Angeles, the film pulls you in as you follow the murky and mysterious world of Rick Deckard. Throughout the film, running parallel to eachother, you feel drawn to Deckard yet know nothing about him. In my eyes, Blade Runner is a masterpiece and has transcended from its cult status to an all-time classic.

Stylish and visually stunningfast-paced and immersive — enduring

Sums it up pretty well I reckon.

5 thoughts on “Favourites Friday – Blade Runner”

    1. Hi Lamb #674! Thanks for your comment – as you can see, I went for the minimalist approach!

      By fast-paced I mean that in the 120 or so minutes the film is on the narrative flows very well. Every action has a (near-enough) immediate consequence. In my opinion, not one minute is wasted. I don’t know if you find this but a lot of films, especially more recent ones, could tell the same story if a few scenes were trimmed here and there. I don’t think this is the case with Blade Runner though.

      It’s interesting you mention Philip Marlowe. I read The Big Sleep a few years ago and I really enjoyed it though it did take some reading; quite a complex narrative at times.

      Blade Runner is a very visual film and I also agree with you about the Vangelis score. The music is so relaxing and meditative 🙂

  1. Ok, fast in that sense.
    I’ve never read The Big Sleep, another blogger recommended it to me on a thread I created on my blog entitled: “What are your favourite books?”
    If you need some ideas for future reading, worth a look ( :

    I recently discovered 30 min short “I’m Here” (2010) by Spike Jonze. I think theme is similar to Blade runner. It’s pretty “out there” .Might be your cup of tea. If so, let me know what you think ( :

  2. Wonderful film. From start to finish. I watched it a little while ago, the re-fiddled (better) version and I am still shocked how well it stands up visually today. The Hades landscape on that first shot still gives me goosebumps!

    Deckard is a Replicant too. Fact! 🙂

Leave a Reply

