Comedy or action? Depends on your mood

Yesterday I was talking to a colleague at work about how your mood is affected when drinking alcohol. We agreed that if you’re feeling low or angry then drinking will increase those feelings and, conversely, if you’re in a happy and excitable mood then drinking will increase those feelings too. That’s in our experience anyway.

I think it’s the same with films. You have to be in the right mood to watch different kinds of films.

Take Tuesday night for example, I watched Blade and I really wasn’t in the mood for it. Normally I like the Blade films – Blade is a role Wesley Snipes was born to do – but on Tuesday I just wasn’t feeling it. Admittedly it is a very far-fetched film (especially towards the end) but that didn’t bother me. I simply wasn’t in the right mood.

Horror films is one genre I’m never in the mood for. I’ve sort of made a promise to myself not to watch one again. To be completely honest, I can’t watch one because I a. get very jumpy and b. think about it for days afterwards. The only times I have watched one I had to (literally) pysch myself up beforehand.

Now comedy is something best watched as a group or with someone who is bound to laugh out loud. I watched The Hangover with my boyfriend and he was laughing all the time. His laughing made me enjoy it more too as I knew he was getting just as much enjoyment out of it as I was.

The Lord of the Rings trilogy are my favourite films but, again, I need to be in the right mood to watch one – and have three (or nine) hours to spare. Because I love the films so much I need to do them justice ie. either watch them by myself or with another LOTR fanatic and have enough time to watch the film without stopping every five minutes. Call me silly but for me, that’s how it has to be.

Leave a Reply

