[Movies of the Month] July

Yep, that’s right. I only managed to watch a measly six films this month. The reason for that can be summed up in two words: new puppy. Picked up and taken home on 5th July, the new apple of my eye sadly stopped me from my usual film watching, as being just nine-weeks-old he demanded my full attention. So, it was all eyes on the puppy, not the TV or cinema screen…

July

CINEMA VISITS
World War Z 
– Gripping, edge-of-your-seat flick. ★★★★
Despicable Me 2 – Not as enjoyable as the first film; dare I say it, there was too much of the minions! ★★★

1ST TIMERS
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen – Following on from last month’s below par The Five-Year Engagement, this was a return to form for Miss Blunt. ★★★½
The Neverending Story – Huh. Can’t say it was quite what I was expecting! ★★★
The Dilemma – Had a few giggles, but quite forgettable. ★★★½
Dark Shadows – Not one of the better Depp/Burton collaboration… ★★

Total: 6 

July’s top film: The more I think about it, the more I really enjoyed World War Z. I’m currently reading the book for the first time, but – surprise, surprise – this isn’t lessening my warm thoughts about the film adaptation. More about that in a future post…

July’s biggest disappointment: Depp, Pfeiffer, Bonham-Carter; Dark Shadows should have been excellent. Sadly, it wasn’t. In theory, the casting was spot on. However, it left you – given it’s 38% rating on RT I think you agree with me – very, very disappointed.

Since 1/1/13
Cinema visits: 11
Rewatches: 43
1st timers: 53
Total: 107

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑