[Musical Monday] The Magnificent Seven

Inspired by recent posts from some of my favourite bloggers, including Ruth’s post on her top five favourite Hans Zimmer scores, Nostra’s Monday Question on soundtracks, Castor’s Q&A on The Best Use of Music in the Movies and Ben’s post on the wonderful John Williams, I’ve decided to introduce a new, regular feature on my blog: Musical Monday.

Each week I will take a look at either a musical, a composer, a soundtrack or a particular track from a film. This week it is the wonderfully charismatic main theme from The Magnificent Seven. Directed by John Sturges, the musical score was composed by Elmer Bernstein.

When I hear the main title I think of adventure, horses, sunshine and cowboys. It’s an exciting piece of music that is full of life and leaves you with a smile on your face and the desire to grab your horse and travel back in time to the Wild West.

15 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] The Magnificent Seven

Add yours

  1. Haven’t seen the film, but you’re right, it reminds me of sunshine and western… Nice.

  2. Thanks for the link Claire! Never saw the movie, but the music sounds interesting and really makes me want to check out this movie, it almost seems happy! 🙂

  3. Hi, Claire and company:

    Excellent choice!

    John Sturges always seems to bring out the best in musicians. ‘The Magnificent Seven’ set the bar very high with a muscle bound, masculine, familiar tune that brought people to theaters and sold countless products afterwards.

    Would also add ‘Bad Day At Black Rock’ and ‘The Great Escape’.

      1. Hi, Claire:

        Yes, they are.

        Would also offer the theme to ‘The Professionals’ from 1966. With Lee Marvin, Burt Lancaster and Ralph Bellamy. It’s theme is a lighter, more southern twist on ‘The Magnificent Seven’ by Maurice Jarre.

  4. This movie is supposed to be good but I can’t get over the fact that it’s a remake! I prefer Kurosawa’s version. SEVEN SAMURAI FOR THE WIN!

  5. Thanks for the link, Claire, I’ve never seen The Magnificent Seven but I should get on it. Interesting that we both have classic movies on our post today 😉

    1. Indeed we did! I really must get seeing some of the classics – there are so many that I need to watch, including those by Mr Peck, of course 😉

  6. I LOVE this segment!! Please keep it going! I am in love with movie soundtracks and themes. One of my favorite topics!

    and a great one to begin with…Magnificent Seven!! Hooray! Thanks for this Claire!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑