[Review] In Time

In Time (2011)

Dir: Andrew Niccol
Starring: Justin Timberlake, Amanda Seyfried, Cillian Murphy

IMDb: “In a future where people stop aging at 25, but are engineered to live only one more year, having the means to buy your way out of the situation is a shot at immortal youth. Here, Will Salas finds himself accused of murder and on the run with a hostage – a connection that becomes an important part of the way against the system.”

With the premise that everyone stops aging at 25 and has just one year left to live, In Time was always going to be an ‘out there’ film. While firmly suited in the sci-fi genre, there are other elements to it, namely romance and the Robin Hood, ‘steal from the rich to give to the poor’, notion.

While not a technically brilliant film – it is only scoring 39% on Rotten Tomatoes at the time of writing – I found it very enjoyable with some good attention to detail. Will Salas (Timberlake) and Sylvia Weis (Seyfried), Salas’ victim come partner-in-crime, are pursued by a time keeper, Raymond Leon (Murphy). The time keepers are there to keep track of time, make sure it hasn’t been stolen, etc. The fact that the time keepers don’t carry much time on them as a deterrent to would-be criminals was a nice touch, I thought.

The casting was strong and Murphy was, as always, brilliant. This was the first time I’d seen Timberlake in action and I thought he was very impressive – he embodied his character very well.

Like I said earlier, I did enjoy this film though I can see why critically it hasn’t done very well. There are action scenes aplenty though at times it does feel quite cliched. It is certainly one of those films where you can preempt what will happen.

★★★

7 thoughts on “[Review] In Time

Add yours

  1. Although the reviews haven’t been too good I stayed away from knowing anything about this movie and am still looking forward to seeing it!

  2. I agree with Nostra. I have avoided reading too much on this because I still want to see it too. Thanks for the non-spoilerish review that remained objective. Glad you weren’t afraid to give it a better score than most others have!

  3. I saw this and have avoided a review as I thinkI would be a little hard on it.

    Suffice to say I disliked it form the moment it started. I am glad you got more form it than I.

    I just thought it was a bit like my decorating…. Nice idea, poorly executed. Could and should have been a 1 hour special for TV. Too long and stretched too thin.

    But as I say Claire, I am glad you enjoyed it more than me!!

  4. I still really want to see this and your review won’t keep me away! LOL. I’ll try to get to it soon and then I’ll see if I agree with you.

  5. Okay, I saw it. let’s just say that after reading a few reviews, I still ended up with some disappointment…

    My review should be completed and posted this Wednesday.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑