Destination: Mumbai. Celebrating the Indian film industry

suitcase-160345One year ago, I was in the middle of my second business trip to India. My first visit was a few months earlier, in May, and I would go again for a third time in September.

Before taking on my current role I had only travelled on business in the UK before. Travelling overseas is a completely different ball game.

When you go on holiday you book everything yourself; the flights, the hotel etc. In my company, when you travel on business all that is taken care of for you. All you have to do is remember your passport, suitcase and the all-important itinerary with the booking details on. Forget that and you won’t be getting very far.

MUMBAI DREAMS

Since making that first trip, I’ve completely fallen for India’s charms.

I’ve been four times and have gotten to know the Maharashtra cities of Mumbai and Pune quite well. I’ve also holidayed in Goa but there’s still an incredible amount left to discover, from the Himalayas in the north to the beauty of Kerala in the south.

When I’m missing the people, noise and the hot, humid air of India, I find myself looking at the international films section of Netflix.

I’ve watched three Indian films so far: The Lunchbox, Daawat-e-Ishq and Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. I’ve enjoyed each of one, particularly The Lunchbox, which is set in Mumbai and stars Irrfan Khan and Nimrat Kaur.

ZNMD was unusual in that it was set in Spain;, it’s a road trip-style film following friends on a stag do. While I wasn’t able to admire the scenery of India, it subdued my India cravings as the Hindi-English language the characters used reminded me of my friends and colleagues in India.

Daawat-e-Ishq was more of your stereotypical Bollywood film, complete with several singing and dancing sequences. Set in Hyderabad and Lucknow, it once again fulfilled my need to hear the phrases ‘chalo’ (let’s go) and ‘theek hai’ (OK).

MY SNAPSHOTS FROM INDIA
Leave a Reply

