Film-viewing Rule No 8 – You Will Not Jump Ahead

“I really want to watch the Harry Potter films again,” said my boyfriend recently.

This wasn’t what he actually meant, though. What he meant was that he wanted to watch the ‘good’ films again, starting from film three, The Prisoner of Azkaban. I agreed with him, as I’ve seen the first two films that many times and ‘The Prisoner of Azkaban’ was always my favourite book.

This got me thinking, though. Were we breaking some unsaid film-viewing law by jumping ahead? Should we have gritted our teeth and watched The Philosopher’s Stone and The Chamber of Secrets? They’re not ‘bad’ films by any stretch after all.

When films are released as sequels or trilogies there is always the temptation to skip ahead, especially if you prefer one film over another.

When we rewatch The Lord of the Rings trilogy later in the year for our annual viewing around Hobbit Day, we’ll play each film, though I could start with The Two Towers as I’ve watched Fellowship more than any other film and could probably recite the whole script unprompted.

Out of all the series I can think of, I think that potentially the only series that you can dip and out of, choosing a film at random rather than in order, is James Bond.

The earlier films are especially easy to watch out of order. While the Daniel Craig-era of films carry themes over, the earlier Sean Connery and Roger Moore films introduce and close themes in just the one film. The repeated mention of S.P.E.C.T.R.E. is the exception, of course.

What do you think? Are we rule breakers for skipping ahead?

3 thoughts on “Film-viewing Rule No 8 – You Will Not Jump Ahead”

  1. I’ve read a couple of your posts on viewing rules. As a person with OCD, I almost always marathon most series’ from beginning to end. Your example of Harry Potter is where I would just falter haha
    I need to watch those 1-8 like a split up marathon. The same goes for Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and a few others.
    Sometimes though, I don’t mind just watching the particular one(s) I’m in the mood for. Die Hard, Indiana Jones, James Bond especially. But that is because most of these movies are very standalone.

    It all just depends on what type of person you are.

    I love your blog! Check out mine if you get the chance. I look forward to reading more of your stuff in the future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

