Life, Love and the Movies

Life, Love and the Movies

Thanks to Nostra at My Filmviews and Karamel Kinema, the first movie blogathon of 2014 is upon us, and what an intriguing set of questions they have asked…

LIFE

1. What was the first movie you saw in the cinema and what do you remember about that visit?

I can’t remember many of my childhood experiences until around the age of 7 onwards, and even then they are few and far between. My mum informs me that I adored 1994’s The Lion King when I saw it at the cinema, but the first cinema-going experience I really remember was going to see Chocolat in 2000 for my 12th birthday.

I think the reasoning behind choosing to watch it was because I loved chocolate rather than because I thought Johnny Depp was a great actor! I remember that it was an unfortunate choice for my friend Anna, who had decided to give up chocolate for Lent that year, which is when we went to see it…

2. Are there any movies you have very strong memories of which are not because of the movie?

There are several films that I have strong memories of, but the one that comes to mind first is when I went to see 2005’s The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe with my mum. My then-boyfriend and I hadn’t been getting on too well, and during the film he rung me. I left the screen to answer, returned in tears, and then mum and I left. Happily, I had already seen the film so wasn’t too upset about missing it!

3. Which movies had a big impact on you and changed a (small) part of your view on life?

Many compelling films have left me thinking that I should spend more time with my family or travel the world, but there hasn’t been a specific one that has changed my view on life. For me, films are entertainment and a hobby, and I would say that if anything it is the cast and crew who make the films that inspire me.

4. Do you have any comfort movies which you return to because you are in a specific mood?

Once a year I like to watch The Lord of the Rings trilogy over the course of a few days, and I have recently been doing the same with the Harry Potter series. I wouldn’t call them ‘comfort movies’, more films that I know I love and enjoy. As well as those two franchises other films that are on my ‘old reliables’ list are LabyrinthJurassic ParkStardust, and more recently Gnomeo and Juliet and Mirror Mirror. 

If on the rare chance that I watch a horror film, I try to watch a comedy after to distract me. Perhaps comedy is my ‘comfort genre’?

5. If a movie would be made about your life, what type of movie would it be and who would you like to portray you?

My first thought would be a film from the fantasy genre, something along the lines of Bridge to Terabithia where the imagination of the lead characters comes alive. However, after giving it more thought I would say it would still be more from the fantasy-medieval theme, drawing inspiration from ‘Game of Thrones’, The Chronicles of Narnia and LOTR.

I think that Mia Wasikowska would be a great choice. She’s a very talented actress who has made some interesting choices so far in her career, and I would love to see her in another, more dark, fantasy role, following on from Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.

6. Which existing movie best represents you?

As you may have gathered, the fantasy genre is my favourite, but I can’t say that I live my life as if I were in Middle Earth. My 8-month-old dog is my pride and joy so at the moment I would have to say that my life is a little like Beethoven – I love him to death but he can be quite the troublemaker!

7. If you knew you would die tomorrow, what would be the last movie you would want to see?

Labyrinth, as I would be able to see David Bowie’s wonderful Jareth one last time and sing along at the top of my lungs to all the fantastic songs. I would have chosen a LOTR film, but if I was only able to choose one it would be too difficult to choose. Well, I’d choose The Two Towers but then I’d want to see Return of the King to see what happens next!

8. If you could spend your life working in the film industry, what would you be and why? 

I would love to work in set decoration or the arts department, tracking down and making props. In my opinion, it is all the decorative details that are not immediately noticeable that make a great film, particularly in the fantasy and sci-fi genres. Take Bag End in Fellowship of the Ring, for example. I could have spent hours walking around the set, with its maps, picture frames, pantry… the list is endless!

LOVE

1. Did you ever have a first kiss with someone while at the cinema and if so which movie was playing?

There’s been no kissing at the cinema for me; my attention has always been solely on the film!

2. What is your favourite movie relationship and why?

I’ve found this question one of the hardest to answer. While there are several relationships in films that I enjoyed watching develop – Vivian and Edward in Pretty Woman, for example – there aren’t many that spring to mind as being a particular favourite.

Going back to LOTR, I would have to choose a relationship between friends, either the bond between Legolas, Gimli and Aragorn or Frodo and Sam. In both sets of friendships the characters stick together and defy the odds, coming to blows in several cases but putting their differences aside to reunite for their shared purpose.

3. When did your love for movies start and how has it grown?

My love for films started at the age of 13, when I went to see The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (see Qu 6). I then became more interested in going to the cinema, and I literally counted down the days until The Two Towers was released!

I started paying more attention to awards ceremonies, like the Academy Awards and the BAFTAs, and started reading EMPIRE regularly. I used to buy the odd copy every now and again, particularly if a film or actor of interest was on the cover, but I stopped when I was in my late-teens. As with many other hobbies, other activities took over!

When I went to university I still enjoyed going to the cinema, but the spark wasn’t truly reignited until writing a blog became a requirement of my postgraduate journalism diploma. It was around this time that I took out a subscription to EMPIRE, quite a few years after I stopped reading it.

Looking at my stats, I became more involved with the film blogging community in 2011, with my first regular commentators being Scott, then known as Custard, from FrontRoomCinema, Castor at Anomalous Material and Dan over at Top10Films. I attended EMPIRE Presents… BIG SCREEN that year, where I met some fellow Tweeters and bloggers, and took my film-going more seriously, writing this blog and updating my online diary at Letterboxd.

Today, I’m hoping to get back in the swing of things, posting more and reading the thoughts from my fellow bloggers!

4. If you have to choose one movie to watch with your loved one, what would it be and why?

The answer to this question really depends on which loved one I would be watching it with. My mum enjoys romcoms, and we recently watched the Danish film All You Need Is Love, starring Pierce Brosnan and Trine Dyrholm, together. My boyfriend, on the other hand, prefers action, adventure and sci-fi films.

As it is one of his favourite films and I enjoy it to, I would choose to watch Tron: Legacy with him. We had been together for about 18 months when it came out in December 2010, and I booked tickets for us to see it at a midnight showing. It’s the only time I’ve been to a midnight showing and while I was very tired the next day, it was worth it. He absolutely loved the film, and we were buzzing as we drove home in the early hours!

5. If you can choose one character from a movie to be your significant other who would it be and why?

One character immediately came to mind, and that is who I am going to answer with: Aragorn from LOTR. Though he cannot be with his beloved, Aragorn is fiercely loyal and she is always in his thoughts. The same loyalty is shown to his companions, putting his life on the line to protect those around him and what he believes in. Of course, the fact that he can handle a sword and is adept in the wild certainly helps too!

6. What was the first movie that made you fall in in love with film and cinema?

The first time that I saw The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, back in 2001, when I was 13-years-old. I was completely and utterly immersed in the whole film, and I went on to watch it at the cinema a further three, or possibly four, times with my school friends.

It transported me to a different world, and each of the 178 minutes flew by as I visited such extraordinary locations as Lothlorien, Hobbiton and the mines of Moria. I went on to read and collect all information I could about the film, and from that moment on I became a Ringer and film fanatic!

7. How did your passion for movies turn you into a movie blogger?

I started writing this blog in September 2009, when it was a requirement for a diploma that I was doing. After I graduated I decided to keep writing it, choosing to use it as an online film diary. Some of the posts I wrote for the diploma are still published on the blog, and the first film-related post was this, which I now cringe at slightly!

How regularly I post peaks and troughs, but one of my new year resolutions is to post more, as I have recently changed career path and am no longer in journalism; my blog will well and truly be the source of my creative output!

I have missed being an active part of the film blogging community as well, which is continually growing and diverse. Some of the blogs I used to follow haven’t had new posts for some time, but there are many, many new blogs that I am yet to discover.

8. What is your favourite date from a movie?

As with Qu 2 I am finding this difficult to answer, namely because my romcom knowledge isn’t that extensive! It’s not a date per say, but I’m going for Jesse and Celine’s first walk together in Before Sunrise. Their chance encounter on a train leads to an intense connection, and they spend hours exploring a foreign city together, finding out about each other and about themselves too. 

Nothing out of the ordinary happens as they walk around the city together; they play pinball in a bar and have a coffee together. It’s the connection that they share that singles this ‘date’ out as extraordinary.

———————————–

Thank you to Nostra at My Filmviews and Karamel Kinema for inviting me to take part in their blogathon. To find out what answers other film bloggers have given, follow this link.

18 thoughts on “Life, Love and the Movies”

  1. Hi Claire, long time no *see* 😀

    Looks like we share a love for The Lord of the Rings, yay! Ha, I share your answer in regards to kissing at the movies. My attention has always been solely on the film, in fact I rarely buy snacks whilst watching movies either as I don’t want to be distracted.

    1. Hey! I’m attempting to get back into the swing of things so bear with me and I’ll be over to Flix Chatter soon 🙂

      LOTR was my first cinematic love, and I doubt anything will knock it off its pedestal for a while.

  2. Hi, Claire:

    I thought you’d fallen off the face of the earth. Glad to see you’re back!

    Very interesting questions and answers.

    Still think Kate & Leopold holds up very well as the best execution of a modern romantic comedy. With the emphasis and its attendant chivalrous gestures on romance.

    Word(s) of advice, canine-wise. Keep the lid down in the bath. Also try to tie off cabinet and drawer handles, grips or knobs below knee height in the kitchen. Keeps accidents and clean up times down to the minimum.

    1. Thanks, Jack 🙂 I’m back now and again, as time allows!

      Kate & Leopold is a lovely film, which I watched for the first time in November. It has a great premise, and I thought Jackman did his period best.

      The canine is doing well, thank you. He was recently neutered, so was wearing the Cone of Shame for a while, but he’s back to his bouncy self now.

Leave a Reply

