So long 2013, hello 2014!

The grand total

When I signed up to online film diary Letterboxd in 2012, I originally wrote in my biography section the following: “I always wondered how many films I see in a year so this is my online diary, starting 1st January 2012.” I watched 155 films that year and I can now reveal that I upped that and watched 169 films in 2013, an average of 3.25 a week.

Letterboxd in 2013

Taking a look at all the films I watched, this is how it breaks down:

  • First film watched in 2013: A Dangerous Method
  • Last film watched in 2013: Starman
  • 62 films re-watched
  • 107 films were 1st timers (home watches and cinema visits)
  • 7 films were given a ★★★★★ rating
  • The lowest rating (★) was given to 2012’s Battleship

Looking forward to 2014

Once again, there are a number of films that I am eagerly anticipating this year. Top of my hit list are The Hobbit: There and Back Again, the conclusion of Peter Jackson’s latest foray to Middle Earth, which is due out in the UK on 19th December, and The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1, due out 21st November. Funnily enough, their predecessors were the films I was most looking forward to in 2013!

10 other films I don’t want to miss

Only Lovers Left Alive (21st February)
Dir Jim Jarmusch Starring Tilda Swinton, Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska

Aside from the inspired pairing of Swinton and Hiddleston, the reason that I don’t want to miss this film is because it brings the legend of the vampire back into films that have a rating of over 12A. More akin to Queen of the Damned with its brooding rock star instead of angst-ridden teenagers, Only Lovers Left Alive promises to put the bite back into vampires.

Noah (28th March)
Dir Darren Aronofsky Starring Russell Crowe, Jennifer Connelly

Reuniting Crowe and Connelly after their star turns in 2001’s A Beautiful Mind, Aronofsky’s latest offering is Biblical, recounting the tale of Noah and his great ark. I’m expecting plenty of action, excellent performances from its starry leads and epic CGI sequences.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (18th April)
Dir Marc Webb Starring Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Jamie Foxx

I gave the first film, released in 2012, four and a half stars, as revealed here. I didn’t have any expectations of this film, especially as I’d only seen Garfield in Never Let Me Go, and I was blown away. Garfield was an excellent casting decision, and I’m hoping for more of the same with the sequel.

Godzilla (16th May)
Dir Gareth Edwards Starring Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Elizabeth Olsen, Bryan Cranston

While I did enjoy the 1998 version, I think that it’s about time that the Japanese monster is revisited. The cast are very ‘of the moment’, and with Edwards at the helm, who directed the low key but effective Monsters, this is one I’m really looking forward to.

X-Men: Days of Future Past (22nd May)
Dir Bryan Singer Starring James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellen

X-Men: First Class didn’t disappoint, as you can read here, and brought exciting new blood to the marvellous mutants. With old faces returning, this is an important film to tie up the various threads from previous installments in the franchise, and I have faith that Singer won’t disappoint, returning to the director’s helm. 

Edge of Tomorrow (30th May)
Dir Doug Liman Starring Tom Cruise, Emily Blunt

Cruise continues to flex his sci-fi muscles, ably supported by one of my favourite actresses. Reminiscent of Groundhog Day with our protagonist caught in a time loop, I hope that Liman looks back at his two Bourne films and brings that edgy, ‘not a scene is wasted’ style to this.   

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (17th July)
Dir Matt Reeves Starring Andy Serkis, Gary Oldman, Keri Russell

2011’s Rise of the Planet of the Apes was an absolute triumph, and I gave it a five-star rating, as you can read here. Serkis is back in his motion capture suit for the scene-stealing Caesar, with Oldman, Russell and Jason Clarke taking the human lead roles. The plot is darker, and I have high hopes that this will follow the standard set by Rise.

Jupiter Ascending (25th July)
Dir Andy Wachowski, Lana Wachowski Starring Mila Kunis, Channing Tatum

I’m a little dubious of the casting choices but I’ll put my faith in the Wachowskis directing and writing skills and hope they made the right decisions. This looks to be one of 2014’s biggest sci-fi flicks, promising plenty of action sequences and special effects. Fingers crossed that it delivers!

Guardians of the Galaxy (1st August)
Dir James Gunn Starring Lee Pace, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper

Following on from the influx of Marvel films that have hit to the big screen in recent years comes Guardians of the Galaxy, directed by the relatively unknown Gunn. Featuring an impressive ensemble cast and special effects that will undoubtedly be jaw-dropping,  this could be the summer’s biggest blockbuster. A lot hinges on the directing and writing talent, though.

Into the Woods (UK – TBC. USA – December)
Dir Rob Marshall Starring Anna Kendrick, Meryl Streep, Johnny Depp

Rounding off the year in magical style will be Into the Woods from Disney, based on the musical by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine, and adapted by Lapine. With a truly stellar line up, this fantasy-adventure, which intertwines many of Grimm’s most-loved characters, should be an absolute treat. 

What are you hoping to catch on screen in 2014?

6 thoughts on “So long 2013, hello 2014!”

  1. Nice rundown of your year. Mine was a bit disappointing in the end – we moved house and I missed most of the second half of 2013 in a blur of moving. I’m looking forward to quite a lot this year – The Dallas Buyers Club, The Book Thief and Muppets Most Wanted are top of the list.

  2. I’m predicting The Amazing Spider-Man II will be great. the first film was excellent and it set itself up for a sequel rather well. The film I’m most looking forward to this year is Interstellar…long wait for that one though…

    Poor Battleship getting the lowest grade. It really is rubbish but I did enjoy it more than a few others in 2013. Maybe it’s so bad it’s g-…nah, it’s rubbish! 🙂

Leave a Reply

