[Movies of the Month] November

Looking at October and November’s films, it’s painfully clear that I have neglected the cinema this year. There are several films in cinemas or due to be released soon that I would like to watch, including Gravity, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, so hopefully I will get the chance to see them soon; seriously, having a puppy changes everything!

November

CINEMA VISITS
Thor: The Dark World 
– Confirms Thor’s position as my favourite superhero and, for me, rather controversially, is on par with its predecessor. ★★★★

REWATCHES
The Sword in the Stone – A classic, but not as engaging as I remember. I have aged 15 years since I last watched it, though! ★★★½
Mirror Mirror – I adore this film. Simple. ★★★★
National Treasure – A fun, high action adventure. ★★★½
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street – I love the way this was shot and the superb acting skills of Bonham Carter and Depp but it’s lacking something to give it the wow factor. I can’t put my finger on exactly what, though. ★★★½

1ST TIMERS
You Will Meet A Tall Dark Stranger – Well acted but very easy to lose interst. ★★★
Green Lantern – More entertaining than I was expecting; would grade it a B+, ‘must try harder’ in the recent superhero genre. ★★★½
The Invasion – Interesting premise and great acting from Kidman. Bit forgettable, though. ★★★½
The Place Beyond the Pines – To quote my watching buddy, it’s “like a good film with its lesser sequel rolled into one.” ★★★
Outsourced – Very sweet, enjoyable film that caused plenty of giggles. ★★★★
The Twilight Sage: Breaking Dawn – Part 2 – A worthy finale to the teenage vampire powerhouse. ★★★½
Kate and Leopold – A sweet film featuring Jackman in period costumer, in the rain, on a horse. Ticks all my boxes. ★★★★
Moneyball – Though I know next to nothing about baseball, this kept my attention throughout and was very well put together. ★★★★

Total: 13

November’s top film: Outsourced was an unexpected, delightful treasure. It caught my eye as I will be visiting India early next year with my new company. According to my father, who also works for the same company, it caught the mannerisms of the India people perfectly.

November’s worst film: As it had the likes of Gosling, Cooper and Mendes in it and had received a mighty 82% on Rotten Tomatoes, I was left very disappointed by The Place Beyond the Pines. At 2hrs 21 it is a very long film for the genre, and I quickly lost interest. The acting was first rate but, as my co-watcher, said, it was as if a good film had had its lesser sequel tacked on.

Since 1/1/13 
Cinema visits: 14
Rewatches: 55
1st timers: 82
Total: 151

7 thoughts on “[Movies of the Month] November”

  1. Interesting. I agree with the majority of your analyses, but I’ve always thought that Sweeney Todd was near perfect, and the acting really is great! Great post!§

Leave a Reply

