[Movies of the Month] February

February saw 11 viewings but sadly no cinema trips. Lack of funds and not a strong enough desire to see something at the cinema caused this, though I am now kicking myself at missing the opportunity to see Argo on the big screen. While it has returned for a limited time at my local, it is showing at times that aren’t can’t make – typical!

February

REWATCHES
Snow White and the Huntsman – Sadly didn’t hold up as well on a second viewing. ★★★
Cast Away – A classic. One of my favourite films. ★★★★★
X-Men: First Class – Always an enjoyable watch. ★★★★
Deep Blue Sea – There’s sharks, Samuel Jackson and LL Cool J, what’s not to love? ★★★
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl – The original POTC and best. ★★★★★

1ST TIMERS
21 Jump Street
– Not as funny as I was expecting. At all. ★★
Battleship – The star is for the effects, and that’s being generous. ★
Sucker Punch – Not what I was expecting. In a good way. ★★★½
From Dusk Till Dawn – Your usual bloody romp from QT, but this time with a twist. ★★★½
Knight and Day – Fast paced and action-packed, but lacking a captivating story. ★★★
The Private Lives of Pippa Lee – Slow in parts but good turns from its leads. ★★★½
Legend – Definitely not a kids’ film! Great effects but not as good as its 80s contemporaries. ★★½

Total: 12

February’s top film: Without a shadow of a doubt, Cast Away. It had been far too long since I had watched it, and I was definitely overdue a rewatch. It was my boyfriend’s first viewing and while he did say at one point “This isn’t a happy film!”, he did enjoy it.

February’s biggest disappointment: Well, I was expecting to be disappointed by Battleship so instead I will choose 21 Jump Street. Bearing in mind its 85% rating on Rotten Tomatoes and the praise it received from my friends, I just didn’t seem to find this as funny as everyone else. My boyfriend did, though. Perhaps it’s more of a boy’s film?

Since 1/1/13
Cinema visits: 3
Rewatches: 10
1st timers: 14
Total: 27

3 thoughts on “[Movies of the Month] February”

    1. While there was a lot of hype, I think it was Jonah Hill that killed it for me. I’m not really a fan of his to be honest. To me, he’s a poor man’s Seth Rogen!

      Thanks for your comment 🙂

  1. While I’m not quite as harsh on 21 Jump Street as you (I gave it 3.5) I thought it was totally over-rated. It was ok, but not great. Too try hard and nowhere near as funny as it thought it was.

    Of the films on your list that I’ve seen I would definitely put X-Men First Class at the top of the list.

Leave a Reply

