[Movies of the Month] January

Taking inspiration from Ryan over at The Matinee and Andy at Fandango Groovers, for 2013 I thought I’d keep a monthly check on the films I have been watching, selecting a favourite from between them. So, as we’re just creeping into March, I thought I’d have a retrospective look at both February and January’s films. First up, January.

January

CINEMA VISITS
The Impossible
– Emotive, powerful drama. ★★★★
Les Misérables
– Brilliant singing but couldn’t connect with story. ★★★
Django Unchained 
– Absolutely brilliant. First rate acting from all involved. ★★★★½

REWATCHES
Star Trek
– A very enjoyable, fast-paced action film. ★★★★
Tron: Legacy
– A favourite in my household. ★★★★
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
– Great turns from Sam Rockwell and Mos Def. ★★★½
Gladiator
– A brilliant piece of filmmaking – Russell Crowe’s finest role. ★★★★★
The Amazing Spider-Man
– First watch since the cinema, it certainly held up. ★★★★½

1ST TIMERS
A Dangerous Method
– Despite its trio of impressive leads, I found it severely lacking. ★★★½
Before Sunrise – I wasn’t sure what to make of it, but it’s a captivating film. ★★★★
Before Sunset – How could I not watch it the next night? ★★★★
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel – The perfect feel-good film to watch on a Saturday night in. A strong cast headed up by Judi Dench is spot on. ★★★★
Mad Max – A big disappointment. Not what I was expecting at all! ★★
Seeking a Friend for the End of the World 
– Strong performances from Keira Knightley and Steve Carrell support this unusual end of the world film. ★★★★
Die Hard: With a Vengeance 
– Funny story: I meant to put on Die Hard 2 but I put this in instead! A very enjoyable action flick. ★★★★

Total: 15

January’s top film: It’s a toss up between the ever-brilliant Gladiator and Django Unchained. Both are examples of what a strong script coupled with the right actors can do.

January’s biggest disappointment: Because it stars three of my favourite actors, A Dangerous Method did not live up to my expectations. I’d like to see them reunite but perhaps they should stay away from historical figures next time?

Since 1/1/13
Cinema visits: 3
Rewatches: 5
1st timers: 7
Total: 15

One thought on “[Movies of the Month] January”

Leave a Reply

