[Musical Monday] Rock of Ages

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope you all had great weekends. My weekend included a visit to the BBC Good Food Festival, a trip to the cinema to see Rock of Ages and a re-watch of Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.

Over the last few years there has been a steady stream of musicals at the cinema, and with Les Misérables due for release at the end of the year, this trend is far from over. I’ve never really considered myself a fan of musicals – the likes of High School Musical really don’t do a lot for me – but there are several that I regularly re-watch. Mamma Mia! is one of my guilty pleasures while Labyrinth is one of my favourite films of all time.

When I saw the trailer for Rock of Ages I knew I had to see it. This wasn’t because it was a musical or because Tom Cruise would be topless. I just thought it would be a fun, light-hearted film that would make me smile.

I wasn’t wrong.

As well as putting a smile on my face I also had a medley of Def Leppard, Whitesnake and Journey stuck in my head. Plus this fantastic track by Bon Jovi, which Tom Cruise sings when asked who Stacee Jaxx, Cruise’s famous eighties rockstar, is. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] Rock of Ages”

  1. I’m happy to say that Slippery When Wet was the second album I ever bought! The third album, well that would be Whitesnake! I haven’t seen Rock of Ages yet, but I guess it could be good fun.

  2. I’ve read a few mixed reviews of this but it does sound fun. When I saw the trailer I thought it would be interesting to see Tom Cruise’s performance. Thanks for the review Claire!

  3. I’m a big musicals fan, but tend to prefer the 50s/60s MGM musicals rather than the more modern stuff. Having said that, this does look quite good fun – but think I’ll wait for it to appear on Sky rather than rush out to the cinema. Thanks for review.

  4. I don’t think there’s a person who likes rock and wouldn’t like Rock of Ages simply because of the amazing songs featured in it.

    However, I’m not a big fan of the film itself probably because of the actors. I have a tendency to hate every production with Tom Cruise in it. I watched this one a few years ago and I remember that the beginning was quite strong but they lost me somewhere in the middle, not sure why.

    However, Les Misérables and Labyrinth I will forever hold in high regard. Victor Hugo and David Bowie are certainly among my favourite artists of all time.

Leave a Reply

