Happy birthday, Cate Blanchett!

No Musical Monday post today though it would be ‘Happy Birthday’ if there was one. Today, 14th May, is the 43rd birthday of Aussie actress Cate Blanchett.

When someone asks me: “What has Cate Blanchett been in?” I will undoubtedly say that she was Galadriel in The Lord of the Rings. While I am a huge LOTR fan, Galadriel is arguably one of Blanchett’s career defining roles. With her tall stature, pale complexion and long, blonde hair, she was a natural choice for the royal elf. Director Peter Jackson thought so and I wholeheartedly agree.

Another role that she portrayed in more than one film was Queen Elizabeth I, firstly in 1998’s Elizabeth, directed by Shekhar Kapur, and then in 2007’s Elizabeth: The Golden Age, once again directed by Kapur. Fellow Aussie Geoffrey Rush also starred in both films as Sir Francis Walsingham, Queen Elizabeth’s principal secretary. I have only seen the former film, and from what I remember Blanchett gave a stunning, vivid performance.

More recently, Blanchett joined another of cinema’s best loved franchises as Irina Spalko in 2008’s Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. She also starred opposite Brad Pitt in 2008’s The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and against Russell Crowe in 2010’s Robin Hood.

And, finally, there is her Oscar-winning performance as Katharine Hepburn in Martin Scorsese’s The Aviator. In the 2004 film she stars alongside Leonardo DiCaprio as Howard Hughes and Kate Beckinsale as Ava Gardner.

  • Which of Blanchett’s performances in your favourite?
14 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Cate Blanchett!”

  1. Great actress with plenty of wonderful performances, although Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull doesn’t immediately spring to mind when mentioning her name 🙂 . Hard to pick a favourite performance, but favourite movie of hers just has to be LOTR.

    1. I haven’t seen a huge amount of her films either but I’ve always been impressed by what I have seen her in. I’d like to watch Elizabeth and Elizabeth: The Golden Age over an afternoon.

  2. She was so good in Elizabeth…hated her in Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull though. Cheers 🙂

  3. Glad you’re highlighting one of my favorite actresses, Claire! I posted my top seven fave performances of Blanchett last year, and Elizabeth, LOTR, Veronica Guerin made the list. LOVE her!

  4. I have a huge affection for Cate Blanchett: she’s beautiful, talented and incredibly versatile. I love her in Benjamin Button and really enjoyed Notes on a Scandal too (the books are better, but often are!). I really should pay more attention to actors/actresses birthdays, thanks for reminding me of my love for her!

  5. I haven’t seen enough Cate Blanchett films but she’s been terrific in everything I have seen. One of the best of the current crop.

  6. I’m not a big Cate Blanchett fan, but her real strength is her ability to be different in every film. She could never be typecast but I still think Galadriel is the best role she’s played.

  7. I have to say I love Cate. I’ve been a big fan for years now and for the most part she can do little wrong. She’s devilishly good looking, was near perfect as Elizabeth, she owned Galadriel, was a stand out in The Shipping News, gave Veronica Guerin the specificity to shine and be one helluva performance piece, was a helluva Kat Hepburn, and though she was bloody awful in Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull – she remains one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

