[Blogathon] My Movie Year

“Bloggers often comment on it being a good or a bad year for movies, but which was the best or even your favourite year?”

Andy at Fandango Groovers has, once and again, started a very thought-provoking and interesting blogathon, My Movie Year. His rules are simple: pick you favourite movie year and back it up with five movies that support your claim.

I’ve just stuck to the films that I’ve seen so, after much thought, I’ve decided to go for the year that Fight Club, The Matrix, Notting Hill, The Mummy and The Green Mile were released:

When I took part in Andy’s A Life in Movies blogathon last year, my top film of 1999 was Fight Club. As you’ve probably noticed, each of the five films are from a range of genres. From romcom (Notting Hill) to sci-fi (The Matrix), 1999 had a lot of varied and memorable films…

Fight Club
Brad Pitt gives one of the finest performances of his career as Tyler Durden in David Fincher’s Fight Club, where he is ably supported by Edward Norton and Helena Bonham Carter.

As well as being critically successful – it currently holds 81% on Rotten TomatoesFight Club has developed quite a substantial cult following. It is not only the three leads who impress too; Jared Leto and Meat Loaf also give exceptional performances.

The Matrix
For a generation of cinema goers Keanu Reeves will be best-remembered for his performance as Neo, a computer hacker who discovers that his reality is far from real. The same could be said for Laurence Fishburne (Morpheus) and Carrie-Anne Moss (Trinity).

The Matrix would go on to have two sequels, The Matrix Reloaded and The Matrix Revolutions, but it is widely acknowledged that the first film is undoubtedly the best. Who can forget that famous ‘bullet time’ sequence in The Matrix?

Notting Hill 
A classic love story featuring an English bookshop owner, an American movie star and an odd Welshman in his pants, Notting Hill stole the hearts of thousand cinema goers across the world when it was released. In my opinion, it is up there with Pretty Woman and Sleepless in Seattle as cinema’s greatest romcoms.

One of Richard Curtis’ most famous works – he wrote the screenplay – he would go on to direct Love Actually and The Boat That Rocked and write the screenplay for Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason.

The Mummy
While it may not be remembered as one of the most critically succesful films, The Mummy is still a great adventure film, and one that I will always watch if it comes on the TV.

Starring Brendan Fraser as ‘Rick’ O’Connell, Rachel Weisz as Evy Carnahan and John Hannah as her brother, Jon Carnahan, The Mummy takes its audience to the ancient city of Hamunaptra after a mummy is accidentally awoken. What follows is a crazy ride where two civilizations collide that really shouldn’t have.

The Green Mile
Nominated for Best Picture at the 2000 Academy Awards ceremony, Tom Hanks takes centre stage alongside Michael Clarke Duncan in this gritty, emotional drama where more lives are changed than just the prisoner’s on death row.

It’s a long film – just over three hours – but it defintely sucks you in. When it reaches its final, dramatic conclusion you know that these characters, particularly Duncan’s John Coffey, will stay with you for a long time.

15 thoughts on “[Blogathon] My Movie Year”

  1. I’ve been seeing and reading some of these associated posts (it is a great idea, in fact). Love the films and reasons that make it so for the various bloggers. This was an extraordinary year, alright (I have something on that fact come Wednesday). Well done, Claire.

  2. Thanks for taking part, I have added you to the homepage.

    Great choice of year, the same as me! We even have two of the same films. I have never been a fan of The Mummy but the other four are solid choices.

  3. Some great choices. I love Fight Club, The Matrix, and The Green Mile too. I liked Notting Hill but not sure it would be on my Top 5. I’d complete my Top 5 with The Iron Giant and Toy Story 2. The Sixth Sense would be my honourable mention.

  4. Since everybody is taking part in this blog-a-thon, I might give it a try later today. The two top films you listed are great films, with The Matrix being one of my favorites. Of theother three I haven’t seen Green Mile and Notting Hill. I’m just not a big fan of The Mummy.

  5. Hi, Claire and company:

    1999 was a good year for films. Enjoyed the weaponry and special effects of ‘The Matrix’. Never got the hang of The Mummy, even when it was played by Boris Karloff. Though I really enjoyed Michael Mann’s ‘The Insider’ and ‘The Talented Mr. Ripley’.

    For overall fun there’s always ‘The Deep Blue Sea’, ‘Jawbreakers’ and ‘South Park’.

  6. Soild pick Claire 😀 1999 was a nice year of movies and I agree with most of your picks except the Mummy and Notting Hill ahah 😉 I would definitely have Princess Mononoke in there as well as American Beauty 😀

  7. Woo hoo!! Glad you took part on this amidst your moving endeavor, Claire. I LOVE the year you picked here, and I have seen AND enjoyed ALL the movies, too! I remember really enjoying The Mummy and Brendan Fraser, I heard they’re rebooting it again, ugh!

    I actually own the Notting Hill dvd and still watch it from time to time. It’s one of my fave rom-coms!

  8. For a minute I confused this with Scott’s Movie Year of Birth series, suddenly having this strange thought that you were about 12 or 13! 🙂

    Although I remember it vaguely now it looks like a great year with those films you’ve mentioned. I’m a sucker for Notting Hill – there, I admitted it!

  9. Great choices – I think Notting Hill is sometimes a bit under-rated. It’s a fabulous love story and I usually have a little cry at the bookstore scene – although my mean husband laughs.

    Love The Green Mile too – Michael Clarke Duncan as Coffey is absolutely amazing and it’s one of the best ensemble performances out there.

Leave a Reply

