[Musical Monday] The Last of the Mohicans

I’m not sure how I stumbled upon it but whenever I was studying for exams or writing an essay at university I liked to listen to Native American music on Spotify. I’m not sure what exactly it was about it but it really helped me concentrate.

This morning on my drive to work I found one of the CDs that I bought from a couple of Native American street performers last summer. One of the tracks is their version of the main theme from The Last of the Mohicans.

I’ve only seen the film once, and that was a very long time ago, but I remember the intense emotion and the beautiful score. I remember when one of the lead character’s hearts was cut out as well…

The main theme, which features Dougie MacLean’s ‘The Gael’ is stunning, and is incredibly iconic. Good music transports you from your present to somewhere else, be it film or perhaps a memory of your childhood. While writing this post at my desk I listened to this clip, which is called ‘Promentory’, at work I was transported from a grey Lincolnshire day to beautiful mountains and waterfalls.

5 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] The Last of the Mohicans”

  1. There are few films where sound and vision are so well brought together – this is one of the very, very best IMHO. I don’t buy soundtracks as a rule but I did this one – superb – well worth listening to without the pictures and all the way through.

    And also a film classic, one that bears repeated viewing. I know the story line is a bit complex for some – ‘boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy finds girl’ but sometimes you have to stretch the mind a bit. 😉

    This version is based on the c1930s/40s Randolph Scott film not the Fenimore Cooper book. Be glad – the book is c1840s/50s and shows it – almost impossible to read and long and boring!

  2. I would be unfamiliar with this music since I haven’t seen this yet, but it will be featured sometime this year since it’s on my Blind Spot list.

Leave a Reply

