[Musical Monday] Kill Bill: Vol 1

For this week’s edition of Musical Monday I’m taking a look at my favourite Tarantino film, Kill Bill: Vol 1, and its sequel, Kill Bill: Vol 2.

Uma Thurman takes on the role of The Bride, a member of the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad. On finding out that she is pregnant she decides to leave the Squad, much to the anger of its leader, Bill, and four other members.

After being gunned down and left for dead on her wedding rehearsal, The Bride wakes from her coma four years later and begins her quest for revenge.

The soundtracks to both films are fantastic, and these are my three favourite tracks. Firstly, there is the incredibly catchy whistle performed by Elle Driver (Daryl Hannah) when she visits The Bride in hospital. If you don’t want this stuck in your head for the rest of the afternoon I recommend that you don’t listen to it – it will stay with you for hours!

Secondly, there is ‘Don’t Let Me Misunderstood / Esmeralda Suite’ performed by Santa Esmeralda during The Bride and O-Ren Ishii’s (Lucy Liu) showdown, the full version of which I have posted below. From the fantastic saxophone to the strong vocals, I love everything about this track.

Finally, there is the excellent ‘Battle Without Honor or Humanity’ performed by Tomoyasu Hotei, which can only really be described as the main theme music of Kill Bill: Vol 1. This piece of music fits the soundtrack perfectly, and after listening to it I feel like I could take on the Crazy 88 myself. Not that I will, of course, my martial arts skills are a bit rusty..!

9 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] Kill Bill: Vol 1”

      1. I guess I find each different from the other, but somehow complimentary. So, I think I look at them as one 2-disc soundtrack to a long movie ;-).

    1. Thanks, T! I think I’ll write lots of Musical Monday posts and stockpile them as I’ve got some busy weeks coming up.

      That’s why I love QT, he goes with what he likes and the results are (usually) great!

Leave a Reply

