7×7 Link Award

I’ve only been back blogging a day and already I’ve been tagged in a meme! Thanks Dan, of Top10Films, for passing it on to me. This award, which highlights a blogger’s favourite pieces of work, must be passed to seven others.

The rules of the 7×7 Link Award:

RULE 1 Tell everyone something that no one else knows about you.

RULE 2 Link to one of the posts that you personally think best fits the following categories: Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece and Most Pride-Worthy Piece.

RULE 3 Pass this award on to seven other bloggers.

Something that no one else knows about me
Now this is a toughie… Keeping it film-related, and following in Dan’s foot steps, I’m going to come clean about my first film star crush. When I was 13-years-old a film came out that transported me to another world and began my love affair with films. One of its stars was a then-unknown British actor called Orlando Bloom. The film, of course, was The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings.

I may have had film star crushes prior to 2003 and Mr Bloom but he was the first that I remember. Now this is the secret, embarassing part that not many people know: in a Religious Studies class we had to write invitations to our future, imaginary children’s christenings – I can’t remember why exactly – and Mr Bloom was the father of these future, imaginary children. In my defense, one of my friends who was equally besotted with The Fellowship of the Rings chose Elijah Wood as her imaginary children’s father!

Most Beautiful Piece
The fantasy genre is tied with the sci-fi genre as my favourite, and writing my Top 10 Fantasy Movie Locations post was great fun. I keep meaning to follow it up with other Top 10 Movie Locations posts. Perhaps I’ll tackle the sci-fi genre next?

Most Helpful Piece
Hopefully my reviews are hopefully – you can find them here.

Most Popular Piece
My most popular post – well, the one with the most comments – is my contribution to Dan at Top10Films’ Houdini’s Magic Ticket blogathon. This was a thought-provoking, fun post to write, and I really enjoyed reading everyone else’s contributions. You’re all a very imaginative bunch!

Most Controversial Piece
None of my posts have been particularly controversial. Perhaps I’ll write a post declaring my love for that appaling film called Catwoman? It’s highly doubtful, though!

Most Surprisingly Successful Piece
I was suprised by how many comments I received on one of my latest posts, my Troll Hunter review – I didn’t know there was so much love for Troll Hunter!

Most Underrated Piece
I really enjoyed writing this post about District 9 and Monsters. When I have a bit more time I’d like to another post like this where I look at a couple of films in more depth.

Most Pride-Worthy Piece
I’m going to go for one of my recent posts, my 24 Reasons Why I Love Films. It’s my love letter to film, and sums up just why I spend the majority of my spare time watching and writing about films.

Seven other bloggers
Russ at filmsRruss – Russ inspired me to watch all of the Bond films – I’m 10 down, 12 to go!
Andy at Fandango Groover – Andy’s blog was one of the first I start regularly reading, and I still read it.
Mike at Littlest Picture Show – This chap’s reviews are always very, very well written.
Max at Impassioned Cinema – My Trilogy Thursday partner-in-crime!
T at The Focused Filmographer – This man loves his superhero flicks and has an excellent series of posts coming up, which yours truly is contributing to.
Tyler at Southern Vision – Tyler has seriously opened my eyes to independent and foreign cinema, and has added another 20+ films on to my ‘to watch’ list!
Matthew at Notes on a Film – Matthew shares my love for the TV shows Sherlock and Doctor Who. He seriously loves his films, too.

17 thoughts on “7×7 Link Award”

  1. Awesome work here Claire. I’ll have to give some of the posts you linked to another look. I’m sure they’re all brilliant. I got the meme passed on to me a few days ago, so I’ve already done it, but I’ll add your name to the post under the list of people who passed it on to me. Thanks!

  2. Great post Claire…it is nice to hear your Houdini Magic Ticket article was a popular post. Perhaps you’d like to tackle the Top 10 Films of the ten-year-old…not an official blogathon but a few people have been joining in.

    I thought your 24 reasons I love film post was brilliant! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Dan 🙂

      This weekend I will mostly be packing and doing blog posts so I’ll definitely have a go at the Top 10 Films of the ten-year-old. I think I’ll stockpile some posts as I’ve got some more busy weeks coming up!

  3. Awesome Claire! I love your blog and your ’24 Reasons Why I Love Films’ is definitely one of my fave posts. I also love your Trilogy series, keep ’em coming 😀

  4. You were 13 when Lord of the Rings came out?? I feel very old now. Sob.

    Good to see your contribution to this popular meme, Claire. Hang on, I think I nominated you after you’d already done it. Doh!

    1. Thanks for the nomination, Richard 🙂

      I made someone feel old in the queue behind me at Sainsbury’s last night. Man 1 asked his friend whether he could borrow a DVD. Man 2 replied that he has some James Bond ones. I then said how I’ve been watching all of them and that I just saw The Man With The Golden Gun. Man 1 then said: “I bet you weren’t even about when that was released!” He was quite right, it was released 14 years BC – Before Claire 😛

Leave a Reply

