[Musical Monday] Back to the Eighties

This weekend I watched a very strange medley of film: two James Bond films (On Her Majesty’s Secret Service and Diamonds Are Forever), a hard-hitting drama (Hard Candy) and a comedy (Yes Man). It is the latter from which I take inspiration for this week’s Musical Monday post.

Yes Man (2008) stars Jim Carrey as Carl Allen, a ‘no man’ who enrolls into a personal development program. All he has to do is open himself to possibilites and say yes to everything. Though not quite classic Carrey, it is an enjoyable film that is perfectly suited to watching at home with your friends.

As I’ve said before, I love listening to 1980s music when I’m out driving in my car. So, what could be better for a Monday morning than the fantastic 1983 hit ‘Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)’ that is Carl’s ringtone in Yes Man? It is also, if I remember correctly, the first song that plays when Sam Flynn cranks the power up and turns everything back on in Flynn’s Arcade in TRON: Legacy. Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] Back to the Eighties”

      1. โ€˜Donโ€™t Stop Believinโ€™ is one I always hear everywhere too! Have you seen The Losers? Chris Evans did a hilarious rendition of it:

  1. I love 1980s music too. My playlist for the DJ at my wedding was full of 1980s classics of the alternative kind such as Bowie, The Smiths, The Cure, The Clash, Simple Minds etc.

    1. If you’ve still got it, send me a copy of that playlist over, it’s completely my kind of music!

      I still have a very large soft spot for Bowie and I still have a Ziggy Stardust poster hanging up on my bedroom door back at my parents’ house ๐Ÿ˜€

      My favourite The Smiths song is a toss up between ‘This Charming Man’, ‘Ask’ and ‘Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now’, The Cure would be ‘Just Like Heaven’ and The Clash is ‘Train in Vain’.

  2. I love the ’80s songs too, but probably more to pop ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t realize that this song was Carl’s ringtone in Yes Man. I love that movie. Nice choice!

  3. Wow!

    You’ve had a full and prosperous weekend, Claire!

    I’ve always been partial to Tangerine Dream in several early Michael Mann films. Also Wang Chung in Friedkin’s ‘To Live and Die in L.A.’

    ‘Hard Candy’ is an odd little groundbreaking film. Not Just for its topic, but for Ellen Page’s kind of scary cunning and cleverness. The film gives Ms. Page near free rein to reveal her great potential!

    1. It was a very random weekend, Jack!

      While ‘enjoy’ isn’t the right word I did think that Hard Candy was a very interesting, thought-provoking film with great acting from both Page and Wilson. It is very clever and certainly keeps you wondering as to who is the bigger predator.

      Thanks for the song recommendations, I’ll check them out!

  4. How very cool, Claire. It’s interesting, too, to hear from those commenting on this music era. Timely, as well as I have a music post coming soon. Reading this fit right in. Interesting mix of film, to boot. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

