[Flirty Friday] My Best Friend’s Wedding and Bridget Jones’s Diary

For my final Flirty Friday post of the month it’s a double bill, catching up on the week that I missed.

When I was younger I bought a best of album packed with all of Burt Bacharach’s classics. Don’t ask my why, I would have been about 13 at the time so should have been buying more modern music!

The album included many songs that have been featured in films, and about five or six songs from the album had featured in the first of today’s films: My Best Friend’s Wedding.

My Best Friend’s Wedding (1997)

IMDb: “When a woman’s long-time friend says he’s engaged, she realizes she loves him herself… and sets out to get him, with only days before the wedding.”

My favourite scene from the film features pretty much every member of the cast. In attempt to make her best friend jealous, Julianne, our heroine, asks her gay best friend, George, played by Rupert Everett, to pretend to be her fiancee. George thinks this is a very bad idea and, to embarass Julianne, he decides to start an impromptu rendition of ‘I Say a Little Prayer’.

My next film doesn’t feature any Bacharach, not that I can remember anyway, but it does have plenty of other fantastic songs.

Bridget Jones’s Diary (2001)

IMDb: “A British woman is determined to improve herself while she looks for love in a year in which she keeps a personal diary.”

Whenever I hear ‘It’s Raining Men’ I think of Bridget Jones’s Diary, and this scene. Quite possibly the worse film fight in the history of cinema, for me it is also one of the best. This is exactly how I expect two middle aged British men would fight.

3 thoughts on “[Flirty Friday] My Best Friend’s Wedding and Bridget Jones’s Diary”

  1. I’ve always liked the Bridget Jones films. I think it’s mainly due to Renee Zellweger’s skill as an actress…she’s just so enjoyable to watch in these films.

  2. I like Bridget Jones Diary. That fighting scene was very funny! they fight and they stopped just to sing for the birthday person. But I wasn’t listening to the music. Favorite scene in My Best Friend’s wedding probably when Cameron Diaz sang very poorly, very very funny.

Leave a Reply

