[Musical Monday] AFI’s Greatest Movie Musicals

While searching for inspiration for this week’s Musical Monday I stumbled across the American Film Institute’s Greatest Movie Musicals list, which was released in 2006. While the musical genre isn’t a particular of mine – I’m a fantasy/action/adventure kinda girl – I’ve seen and enjoyed quite a few musicals, including Moulin Rouge!, The Wizard of Oz and Mary Poppins – perhaps I enjoy musicals more than I thought?

Once I really started thinking about it, I realised that I’ve actually seen a lot more musical than I originally thought: Mamma Mia!, The Phantom of the Opera, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Labyrinth… There’s loads!

What I haven’t seen, however, are some of the classics, including Singin’ in the Rain, West Side Story and The Sound of Music. I’ve added them to my rental list so hopefully I’ll finally get round to seeing them.

So, in the style of Nostra at My Film Views, I have a Monday question for you: Are you, like me, more of a fan of the musical genre than you thought?

PS. I couldn’t leave you without a clip from YouTube to hum all day. Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] AFI’s Greatest Movie Musicals”

  1. You haven’t seen those musicals yet? I must admit I have not seen all of the time but you should check out Singin’ in the Rain first as it’s such a great movie. Gave that a 10.

    Hahaha, you also have a Monday question now? πŸ˜‰ Happy to answer that I always give them a chance even though it’s not my favorite genre. It sometimes has these great gems like Singin’ in the Rain and Moulin Rouge. I know a lot of people also love Chicago, but that one wasn’t for me.

    1. I know Gene Kelly is in it and I know the words to the song but yet I haven’t got a clue what the plot is!

      Don’t worry, it was only this week that I had a Monday question πŸ˜›

  2. I am not a fan of musicals…. or am i?

    I loved THE MUPPETS this weekend, which could be called a musical. I cried in High School Musical… Yes I know exactly how that sounds… and come on Grease is the best film ever….

    Yes i realise I do sound very camp… and yes I am!!

  3. I absolutely LOVE Singing in the Rain.Another musical that make me happy is ‘Brigadoon’ with Gene Kelly. Also a few others to check out are ‘Meet Me in St Louis’ with Judy Garland and A Star is Born (Garlands version) MUST-see films. Love the old classics… i guess i’m just a youngish old guy at heart πŸ™‚

    timelessmoviemagic

  4. You know how they say that golf is a good walk ruined? Well I generally think that musicals are good stories ruined by cheesy songs; with four notable exceptions: The Rocky Horror Picture show, Little Shop of Horrors, Moulin Rouge, and of course Grease.

    1. I haven’t seen those first two you mentioned either! I’ll add them to my list…

      Mamma Mia and The Phantom of the Opera were great fun but perhaps that’s because they were stage shows first?

  5. I actually really do like musicals, but I haven’t seen all of the important/classic ones. I do recommend Chicago (one of my favorites), Mamma Mia and West Side Story! An American in Paris is also nice!

  6. I really should watch this movie in its entirety! Gene Kelly is just adorable in this scene. Btw, Moulin Rouge! and The Phantom of the Opera are two of my all time fave musicals, POTO is when I first fell for Gerry Butler!

  7. I’m a fan of musicals and I know it! Gene Kelly is an amazing actor/director. You owe it to yourself to see Singin’ in the Rain and Sound of Music post haste. It could almost be argued you haven’t seen the classics here’s small list of ones to look for.

    Singin’ in the Rain
    King and I
    Sound of Music
    West Side Story
    My Fair Lady
    An American in Paris
    Meet Me In St. Louis

  8. I’m not a huuuggee musical enthusiast…. (translation: I hate them), but I have seen a couple that I liked. One that springs to mind is Dancer in the Dark.

  9. I actually enjoy musicals myself too. Moulin Rouge, Singing in the Rain, Brigadoon, The Music Man, Wizard of Oz, The Sound of Music, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Yankee Doodle Dandy, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, and so many more.

    I’ll admit, it takes a lot for a recent musical to get my attention after liking so many classics, but The Muppets was good.

Leave a Reply

