[Flirty Friday] Sleepless in Seattle

Favourites Friday was the series that started it all way back in August 2010. When the Christmas season arrived in December I introduced a new mini series, Festive Friday, all about the films that are a Christmas must at Cinematic Delights HQ.

For the month of love I’ve decided to introduced another new mini series. Say hello to Flirty Friday, all about romcoms. I would have done a whole month of posts on romcoms – like Top 10 Films’ 31 Days of Horror – but the romcom genre isn’t one of my favourites, so I’ll stick to just four Flirty Friday posts instead.

For today’s Flirty Friday I am going to take a look at a film that is one of my favourites, and one of my mum’s too: Sleepless in Seattle.

Sleepless in Seattle
Dir: Nora Ephron
Starring: Tom Hanks, Meg Ryan, Ross Malinger

Nominated for an Oscar and a BAFTA Award for Best Original Screenplay, Sleepless in Seattle is the story of Sam Baldwin and his son, Jonah. Sam’s wife died some 18 months ago, and together with Jonah he relocated to Seattle from Chicago. One night Jonah rings a radio phone-in show after he decides that his dad needs a new wife. When Sam takes the phone and explains what he’s feeling, it is incredibly touching and sad. There’s one person in particular who is touched by his story: Annie Reed, a Baltimore-based newspaper writer.

With a strong cast lead by Hanks and Ryan, Sleepless in Seattle is a sweet, light hearted romcom that is perfect for a date night. Hanks and Ryan have a brilliant chemistry, and throughout the film you are willing them to meet. When they finally do in the last scene on top of the Empire State Building – which admittedly is very corny but, as it’s a nod to An Affair to Remember, we’ll let them off – you can’t help but smile.

For those who haven’t watched it before, give it a go. Yes, it is very schmultzy in parts but it stars one of the most likeable actors around, Hanks. If you have seen it before, it’s probably about time that you watched it again. Pour yourself a glass of wine, sit back and enjoy.

• Next week: Cinematic Delights takes a look at Pretty Woman, where Richard Gere stars alongside one of the queens of 1990s romcoms, Julia Roberts.

12 thoughts on “[Flirty Friday] Sleepless in Seattle”

      1. I haven’t actually seen either film for a good while and I’m guessing You’ve Got Mail will appear quite dated now given the prominence of email during its earlier days. But for some reason I never warmed to Sleepless. Maybe I’ll give it another shot.

  1. Oooh I like Flirty Friday, Claire, and nice pick with this one as it’s one of my fave rom-com! I love how funny this is and despite the schmaltzy-ness it actually never felt tacked on or corny. I really like the kid in this too, so adorable. Btw, stop by later tonight for a special pictures post of iconic images of NYC. I’ve been collecting the photos and the one you posted here will definitely be on there!

  2. I liked Sleepless in Seattle, more so as a kid but I still enjoy it from time to time. Meg Ryan at her sweetest and Tom Hanks entering the prime of his career. Nice review Claire!

  3. I’m a bit late to this post but I couldn’t let a post about a Sleepless In Seattle pass without mention. It was a cultural phenomena in it’s day and I think you had to be around in 1993 to realize just how popular it was.
    I do prefer Sleepless to You’ve Got Mail, but for me Joe Versus The Volcano is the first and best of the three Tom and Meg collaborations.

  4. Think ‘You’ve Got Mail’ is better and more memorable overall:) It is clear, though, that ‘Sleepless in Seattle’ is more melancholic somewhat, and I like it in this way 🙂

Leave a Reply

