Happy birthday, Kevin Costner!

Today – 18th January – is the 57th birthday of Academy Award-winning Kevin Costner.

When I think of the birthday boy, there is always one film that comes to my mind: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. I admit that it isn’t his best film, but it is the first film of his that I can really remember. While it is, to be completely truthful, not that good, I still get a lot of enjoyment from watching it. It was undoubtedly a very popular film upon its release in 1991, recording a worldwide gross of $390,493,908, approx £253,452,267, according to Box Office Mojo.

If you’re not a Prince of Thieves fan that you’ll most probably remember Costner for his Oscar-nominated performance in 1990’s Dances With Wolves. A hugely successful film, both critically and commercially, it has a worldwide gross of $424,208,848 (approx £275,335,139) and took home the following awards:

Academy Awards
Best Picture
Best Director
Best Cinematography
Best Film Editing
Best Music, Original Score
Best Sound
Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium

Golden Globes
Best Director
Best Motion Picture – Drama
Best Screenplay – Motion Picture

It was also heavily nominated at the BAFTAs, although it didn’t take any home. The film’s haul of awards is even more impressive considering it was Costner’s directorial debut. I haven’t seen it for a few years, and it’s about time I had a rewatch.

Costner’s other films include 1987’s The Untouchables, 1992’s The Bodyguard, 1995’s Waterworld and 1997’s The Postman. He will next be seen in Zack Snyder’s Man of Steel as Jonathan Kent, due for release next year.

8 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Kevin Costner!”

  1. Hi, Claire and company:

    I went with ‘Other’. Costner is an okay actor, whose ego, I believe writes checks the actor/director cannot cash.

    I liked his cameo as the focus of attention in the beginning of ‘The Big Chill’. Also liked him as Scott Glenn’s goofy little brother in ‘Silverado’ and the Russian mole in ‘No Way Out’. Not much more beyond that.

  2. I never was a big fan of Costner, although I did see quite a lot of his movies. Haven’t seen him in much lately though and remember the time when he was a big star.

  3. I don’t think he’s the greatest actor but he’s got screen presence and a sympathetic demeanor. I must admit Prince of Thieves is one of my guilty pleasures and I quite like him in The Bodyguard. I voted for Untouchables though, I love that film. Nice tribute, Claire!

  4. I am very surprised that people have voted for Waterworld and The Postman, two of the worst movies I’ve ever seen. I picked Dances with Wolves, which is my mother’s favorite movie. She showed it to me when I was younger. I don’t really remember it that well though, considering that was 10-15 years ago.

  5. The mark this occasion I may well watch Prince of Thieves tonight.

    Watched The Bodyguard for the first time in ages recently…was bored to tears!

Leave a Reply

