Happy birthday, Orlando Bloom!

Today – 13th January – is the 35th birthday of everyone’s favourite elf, Orlando Bloom. 10 years ago this post would have very much been a love letter to Mr Bloom – I readily admit it that I was quite taken with him in The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. Nowadays I have moved on to the likes of The Fass, RyGos and Tom Hiddleston. Well, I say I have moved on but I’ll still watch whatever Bloom is in. Maybe…

Bloom shot to fame for his performance as the elf prince Legolas in Peter Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings trilogy, the first of which was released 10 years ago. From there he tried his hand as a US soldier in Ridley Scott’s Black Hawk Down (2001) before returning to blockbusters with the first of the Pirates of the Caribbean films, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, which was released in 2003. He would then go on to star in its sequels, Dead Man’s Chest and At World’s End.  

While foremost known for his roles in blockbusters – namely The Lord of the Rings, Pirates of the Caribbean, Troy and Kingdom of Heaven – Bloom has also starred as an Australian outlaw in Ned Kelly, a milkman in The Calcium Kid and a bereaved son searching for meaning in his life in Elizabethtown.

  • Bloom will next be seen in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey where he will reprise his role of Legolas.
2 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Orlando Bloom!”

  1. Ahah, somehow I knew you’d be making a post on him Claire. I actually was looking at who’s having a birthday today but I only like Orlando as Legolas. I hated him in Troy, I guess his character was weak too. The bright spot for me on that film is Eric Bana.

  2. Sometimes I forget that Legolas (The Lord of the Rings) and Will (Pirates of the Caribbean) are the same actor. I like him most as Legolas myself.

    I’m with Ruth, I did not like him in Troy.

    Did you ever see him in Black Hawk Down?

Leave a Reply

