What would your answer be?

Today’s blog post has taken inspiration from one of my favourite websites, TheOneRing.net The website was founded in 1999 by fans of Tolkien for fans of Tolkien. To use their own words, TheOneRing.net continues today in bringing fans the latest news on the beloved figures involved in the making of the wildly popular Lord of the Rings movies as well as the newest information available on upcoming productions, Tolkien-centered events, new publications and fan gatherings.

As well as following the website, I also like TheOneRing.net on Facebook. Most days they post a ‘question of the day’, which are always great fun. For today’s post I have pinched some of their questions and provided my own answers. They have asked so many fantastic questions that I was struggling to find some of my own!

Enjoy the Q and As and, as always, leave a comment – I’d love to know what your answers are.

What do you get Gandalf for Christmas?
Now this is a toughie. I think I’d get him some pipeweed, perhaps a barrel of Longbottom Leaf or Old Toby. I’d probably get him a nice new pipe to go with it, something decorative that he can use for special occasions. I’d buy him a few pairs of good quality socks as well. He spends a lot of time outdoors and some warm walking socks would be very, very useful. I imagine his current pairs are quite holey!

Finish this sentence: “Dear Legolas, I…”
Dear Legolas, I would love to know the secret of your luscious golden locks. Is it just good genes or do you use a certain product? Whatever it is, you certainly have a very impressive head of hair and you could definitely start in a shampoo advert or two. Many thanks, Claire.

You inherit Sting. The first thing you do is…
…check whether it’s glowing blue because if it is, it’s definitely time to start running! If there’s no time to run then I’d stand my ground and kills as many orcs as possible!

Some Middle-earth characters now have a Facebook page, what are some of their status updates?
Pippin: I can’t wait for lunch. I wonder what we’re having? It seems like ages since I had elvenses. And second breakfast. And I can barely remember what I had for breakfast!

Gimli: Banging headache this morning, that elf can certainly handle his drink but don’t tell him I said that!

Three excellent ones that people posted at TheOneRing.net were:
Aragorn created an event: Going Underground.
Legolas is attending.
Gimli commented: An Elf will go underground where a Dwarf dare not?

Witchking of Angmar: Going to war today. No worries though, no man can kill me!
Eowyn has been tagged at Pelennor Fields with Meriadoc Brandybuck.

Elrond created an event: Rivendell secret council

Gandalf vs Dumbledore – who would win?
Hmm, I’m not sure what they would be fighting about. If it was a friendly arm wrestle then I’d definitely go for Gandalf as he is much more physical than Dumbledore. Dumbledore stays within the comfort of Hogwarts most the time while Gandalf is out in the fresh air on Shadowfax travelling the length and breadth of Middle-earth!

You are given free reign of The Hobbit set – what do you check out first?
Now this is difficult! My first instinct would be to visit Rivendell or Lothlorien. However, Bag End is so homely and packed full with trinkets that I’d hate to not see it. The set design crew did such a fantastic job with Bag End in the trilogy. It’s very inviting and I’d love to have a snoop about and have a look at Bilbo’s belongings.

You are given the choice of entering Middle-earth as either a Human, Hobbit, Dwarf or Elf. What do you choose and why?
Easy peasy: elf. I’ve always felt myself more akin to the elves. They are such a strong and graceful people, and I’d love to be among them and soak up the atmosphere. Visually I kinda look the part, too. I’m 5’9” and have long, blonde hair, which my ears frequently peek out through!

10 thoughts on “What would your answer be?”

  1. Another fun set of questions Claire. Wow, between Gandalf and Dumbledore, that’s a toughie. I’m thinking Gandalf as he’s really quite powerful.

    You certainly are like an elf, wow 5’9″? I’m jealous Claire, I’m only 5’3″ so I guess I’m more like a dwarf… I don’t mind though if my leader is Thorin Oakenshield ehm, did you see how gorgeous Richard Armitage is in that role? Oh la la!! 😀

  2. Pardon my LOTR ignorance but when you said “Inherit Sting…” I thought – what has the singer got to do with the film?

    …another really enjoyable read Claire. I love these “What If…” type articles.

    I’ll take this opportunity to wish you and your family a merry Christmas! I hope Santa brings you a few nice things and you have a great day tomorrow.

  3. I love the answers you gave and how much you are a dedicated fan of the Lord of the Rings!

    I was thinking about getting Gandalf a red hat! perhaps with white trim and a white fluffy tassel, then he could go showboating as Santa tomorrow! haha! 🙂

  4. This is wonderful. For the set visit, I would’ve said Edoras, but since it’s specified as a set from The Hobbit, I would have to go with the Shire as well.

Leave a Reply

