[Musical Monday] Jurassic Park

Following on from last week’s debut Musical Mondays post, this week’s post is dedicated to one of my favourite films, Jurassic Park.

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you may have read my Favourites Friday post about Jurassic Park – check it out here if you haven’t.

Steven Spielberg’s Jurassic Park is one of my absolute favourite films. Ever. It’s such a fantastic, wondrous idea having an island inhabited by dinosaurs. It’s a real adventure story, and one that I don’t tire of watching.

The film was released in 1993, and its fantastic soundtrack was composed by John Williams. Williams is a frequent collaborator of Spielberg, and is the man behind some of the most recognizable film scores – I’ll do a separate post about him soon.

When I hear this piece of music, known simply as ‘theme from Jurassic Park‘, it brings back great memories of this film and I’m transported to the island. Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “[Musical Monday] Jurassic Park”

  1. I was just listening to this while at work…my iTunes playlist actually goes Jurassic Park into Lord of the Rings which is quite apt given this post and the Top 10 LOTR characters!

    …but it is great that you should highlight this piece by John Williams – I love so much of his work and I think I’m growing to appreciate it more and more. Jurassic Park features some of his best stuff in my opinion.

  2. LOOOVE this soundtrack! John Williams was the master of epic music in the movies. Every time you hear one of his scores you instantly identify it as his work. That’s a rare ability for a composer, especially a modern one.

  3. I listen to this theme so much! It is a great one. I like the fact that everyone knows it. I whistle it at work sometimes and random strangers will say “Hey! That’s Jurassic Park!” hahahaha. I love it!

    Great choice for Musical Monday!!

Leave a Reply

