Fantasy double bill: Labyrinth and The Princess Bride

I am probably going to lose all my street cred by saying this but currently playing in my car is the Labyrinth soundtrack. I know the words to most of the songs – I’m word perfect on ‘Magic Dance’ – and it puts me in a good mood as I’m driving to work. I do make sure my windows are up, though!

I first watched Labyrinth was I was in high school, and I absolutely loved it. It’s been a firm favourite ever since. David Bowie has long been one of my heroes and Labyrinth is the film I put on if I’m feeling a little blue.

Last weekend, my boyfriend and I watched another 1980s classsic, The Princess Bride. I’ve only seen the film a few times and so had forgotten some of it. My boyfriend, however, knew most of the words and was chatting along to the TV!

Labyrinth (1986)
Director: Jim Henson
Starring: David Bowie, Jennifer Connelly

“15-year-old Sarah accidentally wishes her baby half-brother, Toby, away to the Goblin King Jareth who will keep Toby if Sarah does not complete his labyrinth in 13 hours” – IMDb.

With fantastic characters like Hoggle, Ludo, Sir Didymus and, of course, Jareth the Goblin King, there is much to love about this fantasy adventure from the wonderful Jim Henson and co.

Sarah – a 16-year-old Jennifer Connelly – has to rescue her baby brother, Toby, back from Jareth – a glam rocker style David Bowie. She must complete Jareth’s labyrinth, which is home to all manner of fantastic and strange creatures.

From talking door knockers to a group of dancing Fieries, the labyrinth is definitely not what it seems. Will Sarah be able to rescue Toby? Who knows, but she is bound to have a great adventure along the way…

Look out for a great performance by the young Connelly and a killer soundtrack.

The Princess Bride (1987)
Director: Rob Reiner
Starring: Cary Elwes, Robin Wright

“A classic fairy tale, with swordplay, giants, an evil prince, a beautiful princess, and yes, some kissing (as read by a kindly grandfather)” – IMDb.

Like Labyrinth, The Princess Bride also features some great characters: Fezzik, Inigo Montoya and Westley, to name but a few. It is, of course, Inigo who utters the immortal line: “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

The Princess Bride is, at its heart, a fairy tale – boy (Westley) meets girl (Buttercup), falls in love and then has to rescue girl from a dangerous baddie. The big difference, however, is that it is unlike any fairy tale you have ever heard of before. Poor Westley faces a lot more obstacles than I ever remember Sleeping Beauty‘s Prince Phillip ever having to do.

Before this film I was unfamiliar with R.O.U.S. (Rodents of Unusual Size), lightning sand and iocaine powder. Poor Westley most certainly isn’t, but that’s what you get for being in ‘true love’ and risking your life to save hers.

Watch this film if you want some light-hearted fun, with fantastic characters and many, many memorable lines.

11 thoughts on “Fantasy double bill: Labyrinth and The Princess Bride”

  1. Ah, Magic Dance – one of my favourite Bowie songs to play/sing on the guitar! 🙂

    …I love Labyrinth, it is such a good film.

    …on the other hand, unlike everyone else, I can’t stand The Princess Bride. I know I’m pretty much on my own with this one but I just don’t get the appeal.

    1. For me, Labyrinth is the better of the two. It is so fantastically 80s!

      The Princess Bride is a very sweet film and I like the randomness – Westley faces some very unusual challenges!

  2. Haven’t Labyrinth yet!! I enjoyed The Princess Bride as it does have a quirky, geeky sense of humor by recent standards but personally, I don’t see it as a classic like so many people.

  3. As you know I saw Princess Bride just recently for the first time and it is such a great movie.

    As for Labyrinth that’s one I have never seen, but must admit I’m a bit freaked out by the way David Bowie looks in that movie…

    1. I can understand why you’re freaked out by his appearance! It’d make an excellent Halloween costume or 80s themed party costume 😛

      I think you should watch it, though, see what you make of it.

  4. I haven’t seen Labyrinth but I need to check that one out. I only saw a poster of it with David Bowie, he’s definitely perfect for fantasy films isn’t he? I also like him in The Prestige. As for The Princess Bride, I always remember that Inigo Montoya line from that movie!

  5. I don’t know if your read, or remember when I did this weekender with my girls a while back. they LOVED Labyrinth, princess bride not so much!!

    We often do the Dance magic Dance quite aften around the house and I have to throw a doll in the air like Bowie does!! HAHA

Leave a Reply

