[Review] Midnight in Paris

Paris, February 2011

Midnight in Paris (2011)
Director: Woody Allen
Starring: Owen Wilson, Rachel McAdams, Marion Cotillard

While many people argue that a film’s location is merely just a backdrop for the story, in the case of Midnight in Paris Paris is a star in its own right and deserves top billing.

Midnight in Paris is a wonderful love letter to a city that has inspired countless generations. The protagonist of the film, Gil (Wilson), is enamoured with the city and dreams of Paris in the 1920s. A screenwriter attempting to write a novel, Ernest Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald are his literary gods.

Gil and his fiance, Ines (McAdams), join her parents on a business trip to the city. In his favourite city with the ghosts of his beloved authors surrounding him, will he be able to ignite his creative spark?

Paris, February 2011

I really, really wanted this film to be brilliant, and I was not disappointed. As Ruth over at Flix Chatter said, it is an enchanting film that is complemented by beautiful scenery. The opening minutes are a montage of Parisian scenes, from its world-famous landmarks to random streets. Paris is one of my favourite cities and those opening minutes brought back many happy memories.

Wilson is a strong leading man and Gil is a very likeable character – I’m sure I could spend many hours chatting away with him. He is ably supported by McAdams and Cotillard, the latter of whom embodied her character perfectly. Such a wonderful film about Paris could not have been complete without a beautiful French woman. Talking of French beauties, the French President’s wife, Carla Bruni, also makes a cameo appearance.

Midnight in Paris is a a very enjoyable way to spend a few hours. While it does fall in the romance category, the real romance lies between Gil and the City of Light.

★★★★★

21 thoughts on “[Review] Midnight in Paris”

  1. Glad you liked it Claire! It’s a movie that will you want to fly to Paris right after it’s over. Midnight in Paris is whimsical and light but in a good way, you can’t that too often of a romantic comedy 😀

  2. Woo hoo, glad you finally saw this and loved it! You are so right that there is almost a subplot of ‘romance’ between Gil and the city of lights, good one!

    Thanks for the shout out, m’dear, you’re so very sweet.

    1. It’s so lovely, isn’t it? I really, really enjoyed it 🙂 My boyfriend came along with me and he didn’t really want to go. When it finished, he absolutely loved it and was laughing the hardest!

      1. Ahah, yeah my hubby was exactly the same. He was reluctant to go w/ me but the next day he was recommending it to his buddies! 😀

    1. Hi Mette, thanks for your comment 🙂

      I really hope you enjoy it. It’s a light-hearted, enjoyable film that really showcases Owen Wilson. I wasn’t sure that he was right for this role at first but he is brilliant.

  3. My fiance saw this on a flight to Chicago en route to visit her family and could not stop telling me about how terrible a film it was. Now I can’t wait to see it!

    1. Hi Doc, thanks for your comment!

      Oh no! What didn’t she like about it? Is she going to go with you to see it or are you going with someone else? I look forward to reading your review 😀

  4. Nice one Claire, I laughed so much at your anecdote on Saturday about Shauny and his reluctance to see the film and then how much he enjoyed it!!

    Nice review and a great score!

  5. I love Hemingway and Fitzgerald so found the movie a delight, but the real triumph is the broad appeal. I saw it with a friend who hasn’t read anything by any of the writers depicted but enjoyed it as much as I did.

  6. I haven’t really enjoyed a Woody Allen film for a few years but this looks like a return to form. Looks like a beautifully realised film. Great review Claire.

    1. Thanks, Dan. I really, really enjoyed the film, as you can probably tell! Of his more recent works I’ve seen Match Point and Vicky Cristina Barcelona, which were both alright, but this is on another level.

Leave a Reply

