Happy birthday, Kate Winslet!

Today – 5th October – is the 36th birthday of one of my favourite actresses, the Oscar-winning Kate Winslet.

Winslet has had a very succesful career so far and has been nominated for many, many awards. At the 81st Academy Awards, held in February 2009, Winslet won the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role statuette for her performance in Stephen Daldry’s The Reader.

Before that, Winslet was nominated for the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role statuette for her performances in Little Children (2006), Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004) and Titanic (1998). She was nominated for the Best Actress in a Supporting Role award for her performances in Iris (2001) and Sense and Sensibility (1995).

Instead of listing my favourite Winslet roles, I’m going to list the ones I haven’t seen her in but want to:

1. The Reader (2008)
This was on my ‘to watch’ list but I missed it. IMDb’s synopsis is: ” Post-WWII Germany: Nearly a decade after his affair with an older woman came to a mysterious end, law student Michael Berg re-encounters his former lover as she defends herself in a war-crime trial.”

Starring Ralph Fiennes as the older Michael and David Kross as the young Michael, as well as Winslet’s nomination (and subsequent win) for Best Actress, the film was also nominated for Best Director and Best Picture.

2. Heavenly Creatures (1994)
Winslet’s big screen debut, Heavenly Creatures holds an impressive 95% over at Rotten Tomatoes. From director Peter Jackson, the film is based on a true story, the 1954 Parker-Hulme murder case in Christchurch, New Zealand. The film deals with the obsessive relationship between Pauline Parker (Melanie Lynskey) and Juliet Hulme (Winslet), two teenagers who murdered Parker’s mother.

3. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
I never saw this at the cinema, partly because Jim Carrey was in it and I’m not really a fan of his. However, Michel Gondry’s flick received rave reviews and Winslet was nominated for the Best Actress Oscar. I may have seen parts of it on DVD but I’m not sure – I think it’s time to give it another go.

  • Have you seen any of these films? How would you rate Winslet’s performance?
8 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Kate Winslet!”

  1. Holy Crap!!! You haven’t seen Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind?! That’s easily in my top 5 favorite films. I don’t care how you see it…go now! lol. I guess she was good in ‘Little Children’ and ‘Titanic’, but I don’t like those films quite as much.

    Did I mention you should see Eternal Sunshine now? Oh. I did. Okay.

    1. I haven’t seen it either [runs out and hide]… so Claire, you’re not the only one 🙂

      I just updated my review of The Reader I wrote a couple of years ago. I saw it on a plane. Check it out if you’re interested.

  2. I’m going to be watching Titanic this Monday to celebrate her birthday.

    The Reader and Contagion are breakthrough roles for a new stage in Kate Winslet’s career. She previously played child-like idealistic characters (e.g. Clementine). She still have that kind of spark in her but with more maturity and reservation.

    Also, it’s a shame that I call myself a Winslet fan although I haven’t seen her work in between 2001-2004. Gotta get on that soon.

    1. That’s what I was thinking, I’m a fan but have some how missed out these three films!

      I’d agree with you about The Reader being a breakthrough role. She is definitely moving on to a new stage in her career. She’s a very versatile actress, so I’m confident she’ll just get better and better.

      Enjoy Titanic! 😀

Leave a Reply

