Happy birthday, Marion Cotillard!

Today – 30th September – is the 36th birthday of one of the most beautiful French actresses, Marion Cotillard.

Born in Paris, Cotillard’s early roles included the French films La Belle Verte (1996) and Taxi (1998). Moving forward to the 2000s, she had roles in Tim Burton’s Big Fish (2003), Jean-Pierre Jeunet’s A Very Long Engagement (2004) and Lucile Hadzihalilovic’s Innocence (2004).

2007 was a defining year for Cotillard after taking on the role of singer Édith Piaf in the biopic La Vie en Rose. The film, directed by Oliver Dahan, earned Cotillard the Academy Award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role. Cotillard also took home the BAFTA Film Award for Best Leading Actress, the César award for Best Actress and the Golden Globe for Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy.

Since then, Cotillard has had roles in Rob Marshall’s Nine (2009) and Little White Lies (2010), directed by her partner, Guillaume Canet. She also took on the role of Mal in Christopher Nolan’s Inception (2010).

She will next be seen in Contagion (2011) and The Dark Knight Rises (2011).

  • What do you reckon – what is Cotillard’s best performance to date?
9 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Marion Cotillard!”

  1. I just found out today’s her birthday and was wondering who’d write a tribute to her 🙂 I think she is ridiculously beautiful. I first saw her in Public Enemies which was actually quite disappointing, but she really blew me away in ‘NINE.’ She’s the most memorable female character in that one and there are tons of great actresses in that one. Nice tribute, Claire.

  2. My love of Cotillard is pretty well known (to the point that someone posted on my Facebook wall about it since they know my internet time is pretty limited right now), so this post is awesome. 🙂

    It’s hard for me to pick a favorite. Knowing all the trouble she went through to get ready for the Public Enemies role (as well as nailing the part) keeps that performance special in my mind, and she absolutely lived the role of Piaf in La Vie en Rose.

    Despite the movie itself being a major disappointment, I might have to say that her role in Nine was my favorite, mostly because of her two musicals.

  3. I am falling more and more in love with her and her acting as well. so many to choose from and I had no idea she was in some of the films you mentioned, nor did I realize it was her birthday today!

    I really like your post.

    When it comes to my favorite role of hers I will pick Midnight in Paris. It’s a hard pick, but I like that one best so far of what I’ve seen!

    1. Midnight in Paris is scheduled to be released here on Friday so hopefully, if it’s not on limited release, I’ll be able to catch it soon. I haven’t seen many of her films but I thought she was very good in Inception 🙂

Leave a Reply

