Happy birthday, Gwyneth Paltrow!

Today – 27th September – is the 39th birthday of Gwyneth Kate Paltrow, daughter of film director Bruce Paltrow and actress Blythe Danner.

One of the earliest films I remember seeing Paltrow in is 1998’s Sliding Doors. Admittedly, I haven’t seen it for many years but I remember it being very good, with strong performances by Paltrow and John Hannah.

The film follows a very interesting premise: your whole life can change in a second. After missing her tube, we see Helen’s life split in two. In one version she catches the tube, meets a charming man called Gerry (Hannah) and comes home to find her boyfriend (John Lynch) in bed with somebody else. In the other, she ends up being mugged.

Other notable roles by Paltrow include Viola De Lesseps in Shakespeare in Love, Marge Sherwood in The Talented Mr. Ripley, Pepper Potts in Iron Man/Iron Man 2 and Tracy Mills in Se7en.

  • What do you reckon – what is Paltrow’s best performance to date?
8 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Gwyneth Paltrow!”

  1. I’m looking forward to Contagion. I thought Sliding Doors was great, but like you I’ve not seen it in years – kind of want to though.

    I once saw Gwyneth Paltrow and her little girl at Heathrow Airport. She is stunningly beautiful, didn’t particularly notice that on film but it is the case up close(ish)….

    1. I’m looking forward to Contagion, too. It’s got a great cast.

      Going completely girly and off movies for a sec, I think she has fashion sense. Some of the clothes she’s been wearing to award ceremonies and festivals recently have been gorgeous!

  2. I’ve never been a Gwyneth fan actually, so I can’t say what my fave role of hers would be. I like Emma but mostly because of Jeremy Northam πŸ˜€

  3. Hello Claire and Happy Birthday Gwyneth.
    For me Paltrow’s best performance was as the heartless grifter Ginnie in 1993’s Flesh And Bone.
    It’s amazing how good she was considering it was her first major role, it’s just a shame that so few people have see that particular film.

Leave a Reply

