This week’s cinema: The Guard, Drive and Jurassic Park

ast week I only managed to catch one film at the cinema, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – review to come soon. This week, however, I have three films lined up: The Guard, Drive and Jurassic Park.

The Guard comes highly recommend from Scott over at Front Room Cinema. I’m seeing it tonight so will hopefully get a review up soon.

IMDb sums up The Guard as: “an unorthodox Irish policeman with a confrontational personality is teamed up with an uptight FBI agent to investigate an international drug-smuggling ring”. Check out the trailer for it here:

Drive, starring the delectable Ryan Gosling, currently holds 93% over at Rotten Tomatoes. I hadn’t heard of this film a month ago but now, it’s the only thing people are talking about!

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ll know how much I love Jurassic Park. Take a look at my Favourites Friday post on it here. It’s been re-released in UK cinemas – I’m not sure why, however – and I’m hoping to check it out over the weekend. I was only five-years-old when it was released so missed out on seeing it on the big screen. Now, I finally have my chance!

  • What are you hoping to see this week?
12 thoughts on “This week’s cinema: The Guard, Drive and Jurassic Park”

  1. I was unaware that ‘The Guard’ was a good movie to see, but thanks to you linking to Scott’s review, I might check it out at my local independent theater this week.

    Jurassic Park is being released in the US on Blu-ray this year, so maybe that’s why it has a limited cinema run.

    1. Max, I really, really enjoyed The Guard. It’s quite a black comedy and you feel a bit naughty laughing along in some places. Brendan Gleeson is, as always, very good.

      Ah ha, I thought Blu-ray might have something to do with it!

    1. We went and saw The Guard at our local independent cinema and it was packed. I say packed, it only holds about 50 people 😛 Anyway, it was great because everyone was laughing along at the same places.

      I’ve never checked out The Shiznit before, thanks for the link! I will take a look 🙂

  2. I LOVE Jurassic Park and last nite I saw a JP-lite TerraNova that was apparently produced by Spielberg, I quite like that show. I’m looking forward to seeing The Guard, but as for Drive, not sure yet. The fact that people praise it left and right makes me wonder if I actually will like it, ahah. I don’t always agree with the masses.

    1. Definitely check out Drive. It’s not that violent, just a little bit of brains being splattered on bathroom walls and elevators. Oh and people getting stabbed repeatedly in the throat and chest. Nothing too violent!

    2. Ruth: Ah, I saw the first episode of Terra Nova at Big Screen. What did you think of it? I don’t have Sky but if I did, I probably would have checked out a few more episodes.

      Castor: Hahaha 😛 I saw it tonight – thought it was great! It was very violent but you don’t see the result, do you? It’s more the how it happens…

  3. I’ve got good memories of watching Jurassic Park with a group of lads I worked with back in 1993. We were so excited and made so much noise even the children in the cinema were telling us to keep quiet!
    I might try and catch it again and I may also watch Drive if I can find the time.

    1. Hi Paul, thanks for stopping by. That’s a great memory to have! Did JP live up to your expectations?

      I saw Drive tonight and I thought it was very, very good. Gosling puts on a fine performance.

  4. The Guard looks like fun. I will probably catch it on DVD because it’s getting only a limited release but I’m looking forward to it. Hope you get to see Drive!

  5. I have been living under a rock – obviously. I didn’t know Jurassic Park was getting a re-release. Don’t tell me Spielberg has been tinkering with it! I might have to check it out. Jurassic Park’s original release marks one of my favourite cinema memories – we went to watch it as a family and it was just…magical.

    The Art Director at work went to see Drive this week and he was blown away by it. His verbal review was even more passionate than his Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy review the week before!

Leave a Reply

