[Review] Jane Eyre

Director: Cary Fukunaga
STARRING: Mia Wasikowska, Michael Fassbender and Judi Dench

After first reading about this film back in November 2010, it has certainly been a long time coming.

Starring Michael Fassbender (Hunger, Inglorious Basterds, X-Men: First Class) and Mia Wasikowska (Alice in Wonderland, The Kids Are All Right), it is the latest adaptation of Charlotte Brontë’s classic love story.

After leaving school, Jane Eyre (Wasikowska) begins work at Thornfield Hall, as the governess of Adele Varens, a young French girl who is the ward of the master of the house, Edward Rochester. As Jane and Mr Rochester spend more time together, they begin to develop feelings for each other. However, Mr Rochester is hiding a terrible secret that threatens their happiness…

Wasikowska’s portrayal of Jane is spot on. Jane is a reserved, polite young girl with a strong moral compass, and Wasikowska captures her personality very well. Fassbender makes a good Mr Rochester, though I wasn’t completely sold by their relationship. The passion between them wasn’t as strong as I had hoped.

Visually, Jane Eyre looks fantastic. Haddon Hall, previously used in a BBC adaptation of Jane Eyre, makes a great Thornfield Hall. The costumes, designed by Academy Award winner Michael O’Connor (The Duchess), are wonderful and Jane’s dresses are suitably plain.

While I did enjoy the film, I was left disappointed. It lacked the passion I was hoping for. It was a little too restrained for my liking. Perhaps this has something to do with the PG (PG-13 in the USA) rating, I’m not sure. It is undoubtedly a classy film, however, and Wasikowska shines in the starring role.

★★★½

4 thoughts on “[Review] Jane Eyre”

  1. I faulted the film more for the “legendary” story rather than the execution. This is the first adaptation of Jane Eyre I’ve ever seen andI thought it was wonderfully acted, but I just didn’t care for the characters.

    Does that make any sense at all?

    It’s hard to believe when this film came out earlier this year people were still unfamiliar with Michael Fassbender. Oh how times have changed.

    1. I think I know what you mean… While I’ve never read the book, I have seen quite a few adaptations and I do really like the characters. I would say that the characters in Jane Eyre – along with the characters in Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Sense and Sensibility etc – are not to everyone’s liking for multiple reasons, not least because it was written over 150 years ago and the way the characters behave/speak etc is very different to what we are used to today.

      I must admit that I’ve had a liking for Mr Fassbender since 300 so have been following his progress 🙂 He has certainly come a long way! Saying that, James McAvoy has as well.

  2. Hey,

    Nice blog!

    I loved this movie and this adaptation is 10 times better then the 1996 one! Fassbender was great in it and I actually liked their relationship, there was some passion there, just the right amount, considering the book is pretty reserved, as well!

    I agree with the visuals, they are stunning!

    You should check out my blog! I had a review on Jane Eyre, too, among others!Thanks!

Leave a Reply

