My 10 Most Iconic Movies Images

After seeing Nick’s wonderful set of stills in his post ‘My 13 Most Iconic Movie Images‘ over at Anomalous Material, I decided to have a go.

They say a picture tells a thousands words and, whenever I see one of these images, it whisks me away and provides a great memory, be it happy, sad or somewhere in between. These are, of coure, my personal picks. Oddly enough, quite a few of them are from movies I saw as a child.

*The Italian Job, Jurassic Park, Lady and the Tramp, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, Titanic, The Last Unicorn, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Pretty Woman, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, Romeo + Juliet.

33 thoughts on “My 10 Most Iconic Movies Images”

  1. Nice! I love it. It’s pretty amazing, isn’t it, how certain images from movies we saw as kids stay with us forever? And I don’t think I realized it until I saw this list but……Rose & Jack and are kinda Lady & The Tramp, right?

    Anyway, well done. Glad you chose something from Titanic because I love that movie so much. And I really need to see the original Italian Job.

    1. That Titanic image has been recreated so many times that I think it is worthy of iconic status. I liked your pick, too. Rose and Jack are kinda like Lady and the Tramp – I’ve always loved that spaghetti scene πŸ™‚

      My family has always owned classic Minis – I have one myself – and so I grew up watching that film. The remake, while okay, is not a patch on the original!

    1. Who Framed Roger Rabbit? is a wonderful film though I was always freaked out by what happened to Judge Doom…

      There are some great characters including, of course, the fabulous Jessica Rabbit. She is a very foxy lady!

    1. Even though it holds a special place in my heart, I will admit it’s not the greatest film πŸ™‚ Has the vocal talents of Jeff Bridges and Alan Arkin, though. I still think of this film when I hear Bridges talk..!

  2. Who Framed Roger Rabbit – great choice, Claire! Love the image from Harry Potter too, it gets me in the Xmas mood – roll on present time!

    …and dare I admit I’m a huge fan of Pretty Woman!

    …I’m currently putting together my own iconic images so you’ve given me a bit of inspiration here.

    1. I look forward to seeing your picks, Dan! It was Nick over at AM who gave me the inspiration.

      The Great Hall is truly magical – it’s the enchanted ceiling! In my bedroom (which hasn’t changed so I was a child!) at my parent’s house I have glow-in-the-dark stars on my ceiling. They’re not a patch on the Great Hall, though!

      Ps, like that Titanic scene, that Pretty Woman one has often been copied and parodied so I think it falls in to the iconic status πŸ˜‰

      1. Have you heard about the Warner Bros. Harry Potter Experience that opens next year? It is basically a three-hour guided tour around all the Harry Potter sets at the Warner Bros studios in London. I can’t wait, I’m ready to buy my tickets as soon as they become available.

      2. Oh yes, I have heard about this. As soon as they become available I will grab myself some, too!

        I’ve never been to a studio before, it’s not something that you can visit really? I’m sure the tour will be an eye-opener!

  3. Great images – brought back many memories. Pretty Woman of course, and who can forget Frodo and The One Ring the first time we say it πŸ™‚

    Need to watch some of the movies again.

    1. Hey! Thanks for stopping by. There are many LOTR stills I would have liked to use, including the fellowship as they travel through the wilderness.

      Which ones do you want to watch again? Like Castor, I think a rewatch of Who Framed Roger Rabbit? is in order πŸ˜€

      1. I would like to watch Pretty Woman again, see if I feel the same about the story as I did then (or the clothes – though the red dress is timeless) and Who Framed Roger Rabbit I haven’t seen again in ages.

        Many images of LOTR come to mind πŸ™‚

    1. I wanted either one of the Great Hall, Hogsmeade or Diagon Alley. The Great Hall just clinched it because, as I said to Dan, it is truly magical – an enchanted ceiling, how ace is that?!

      Sneak preview, Red, I’m planning a ‘My 10 year relationship with The Lord of the Rings’ after, again, taking inspiration from Nick over at AM with his ‘My 25 year relationship with Top Gun’. It was LOTR that got me in to movies!

      1. In regards to LoTR getting you into movies, same exact thing here! I’ve been meaning to do a LoTR post here lately (about a possible misunderstanding of the Grima Wormtongue character), but writing it has been bloody difficult.

        Looking forward to what you have to say. 10 years has definitely changed my point of view on things. Initially I think RotK was my favorite, just because it was the finale and everything. After a couple years, it changed to TTT because of the Helm’s Deep/Rohan story and the tension that Jackson was able to create and maintain throughout a 3 hour movie. But in the past year or two, FoTR has come to the forefront, mainly because I find Wood more and more annoying in the final two movies, and the Boromir saga has aged EXTREMELY well.

      1. I’m currently reading the Harry Potter books for the first time, I just started the Half Blood Prince. It will be fun to watch the movies with a different perspective.

  4. Lovely!! This is a cool meme that Nick started, I love your selections, Claire. The Lady & the Tramp one is cute isn’t it… gotta have one from Disney! I should do this post on Friday.

  5. Your like the forth blogger in my network that did this and I think each one is unique. Guess I’m going to take a swing at it later this week.

    Did you chance the site at all? It looks really good.

Leave a Reply

