In cinemas this week: Troll Hunter and Jane Eyre

Two very, very different films are out this week, though I am looking forward to them equally: Troll Hunter and Jane Eyre.

Troll Hunter, directed by André Øvredal, is a Norwegian film that was originally titled Trolljegeren. Released in Norway in October 2010, it has currently grossed $3.9 million worldwide. On limited release in the US in June 2011, it will finally hit UK screens this Friday.

Jane Eyre, directed by Cary Fukunaga, is another film that has taken a while to reach our shores. I originally posted about it back in November 2010. It was on limited release in the US in March 2011 and will also finally hit our cinemas this Friday.

Troll Hunter, filmed in a mock documentary style, has been quite successful, with Empire magazine calling it “wry, spectacular fun”. Variety magazine called it an “enormously entertaining chiller”.

Jane Eyre has also received high praise. Rolling Stone magazine said: “Director Cary Fukunaga and screenwriter Moira Buffini have deftly brought out Brontë’s gothic terrors.” Its stars – Mia Wasikowska, Michael Fassbender and Judi Dench – have also received a lot of praise, too.

  • Look out for reviews of both of these films in the coming weeks.
6 thoughts on “In cinemas this week: Troll Hunter and Jane Eyre”

  1. Hope you enjoy Jane Eyre, Claire, I saw it when it came out back in Spring. Though I admire Fukunaga’s direction, this cliff-notes version just left me wanting… there are so many things that was left out, mainly the believable connection between Jane & Rochester which I think is crucial. Fassbender is good as Rochester but not as good as I wanted him to be, Dalton in the BBC 1983 version still tops my list by a long shot.

    1. It’s interesting you say that about their relationship. Naturally not everything that is in a book can make the big screen but their relationship is pivotal!

      I hope I enjoy it, too. Will let you know! 🙂

  2. Can I just say, Jane Eyre is NOT my bag….I would probably rather pull my own teeth than see that HAHAHA I joke, well sort of.

    But The Troll Hunter is brilliant. I really enjoyed it loads!! 🙂

    1. Haha you funny man 😛

      I’ve just found out that Troll Hunter isn’t showing at my local cinema or the cinema back at home… Not happy! My cousin has invited me to go see it in London with her so I may just do that!

  3. I got a press release for this Troll Hunter into my email inbox this week and that was the first I’d heard about it. But it definitely has the look and feel of a memorable thriller. I wonder how long it will be before Hollywood remakes it.

Leave a Reply

