Empire Presents… BIG SCREEN: Day 3

From extended footage of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy to the first glimpse of Titanic 3D, Empire Presents… BIG SCREEN was literally bursting with movie goodness. I also caught four screenings – Cowboys & Aliens, The Change-Up, the European fans’ premiere of Conan the Barbarian and the UK premiere of Fright Night – and will review them in separate posts.

In the morning sessions there were showcases from Paramount, Lionsgate and the Disney Studio. Paramount kicked off with a montage of its previous and upcoming films. A selection of trailers and exclusive footage followed including Puss in Boots, Paranormal Activity 3, Like Crazy, Mission: ImpossibleGhost Protocol and, erm, Footloose. It certainly was strange watching footage for Puss in Boots and then Paranormal Activity 3 at 10am!

Our huge pile of tickets for each session.

Puss in Boots looks really, really funny and I will definitely check it out when it arrives in UK cinemas on 9th December. Mission: ImpossibleGhost Protocol is lined up to be an adrenaline-fuelled blockbuster. I’ll rewatch the previous three before it arrives on 26th December. I adore the original so will stay well clear of Footloose

Lionsgate’s clips included scenes from A Dangerous Method, Coriolanus, 50/50 and Warrior. A Dangerous Method is headed by three of my favourite actors – Viggo Mortensen, Michael Fassbender and Keira Knightley – and looks at the relationship between Carl Jung and Sigmund Freud. It will be out in the UK 10th February 2012. Coriolanus looks very interesting, too… Starring and directed by Ralph Fiennes, it is an adaptation of William Shakespeare’s tragedy. Using Shakespeare’s original words, is set in modern day Rome and Fiennes is kitted out à la Modern Warfare. Definitely one to keep your eye on, it’ll be out 20th January 2012.

The Disney Studio had a pretty impressive showreel including footage from its new releases from Walt Disney and Marvel plus its movies with DreamWorks. Clips included footage from The Muppets, John Carter, Brave, Fright Night, Real Steel, War Horse and The Avengers. Real Steel looks great and director Shaun Levy was so full of energy talking about it on stage that I’ll definitely give it a watch. It’s out in the UK 14th October.

Collectable stands selling everything from comics to Captain America's shield!

Rounding off the weekend I was at the European fans’ premiere of Conan the Barbarian in 3D, hosted by Jason Momoa, followed by the UK premiere of Fright Night, hosted by David Tennant. Both of the premieres were held in Cineworld O2’s Sky Superscreen – the largest ‘non-Imax’ cinema screen in Europe which has a capacity of 770. Every seat was taken in both premieres and it really is something to be part of a crowd that big. When something funny happens on screen, the laughter literally ripples through the audience.

Fright Night was a great way to finish my BIG SCREEN experience with. Overall, the event was very enjoyable. Forgetting about the 15/20 minute delays, the large amount of queuing and lack of actors, it was lots of fun and, to be fair, this was the first time Empire had held an event on this scale. It was great being able to have a sneak peek at what we can expect to see at our cinemas over the next few months.

A special shout out must go to Scott (author of FrontRoomCinema) and Mike (author of The Littlest Picture Show), too. It was lovely to meet up with fellow bloggers – there definitely is a great community within movie bloggers. If these guys go again, I’ll definitely make BIG SCREEN a yearly trip.

9 thoughts on “Empire Presents… BIG SCREEN: Day 3”

  1. Sounds a really fun day/weekend, Claire. To be honest I wasn’t too fussed about Fright Night. I’m a big fan of the original film and thought the trailer was rubbish. But your positive comments (along with Front Room Cinema Scott’s glowing review) definitely give me some hope as I do love these sorts of horror-comedies.

    1. I’ve never seen the original. If you’re a fan, I’ll add it to my lovefilm list 😀

      I’m not sure what I was expecting but I really enjoyed it. Colin Farrell makes a great vampire! Do you like Shaun of the Dead then? Those kind of horror-comedies?

  2. Glad you had fun Claire, thanks again for the Coriolanus report. Were the cast there for Fright Night? Yeah, the panel at Comic con was a lot of fun, one of my faves of the 2 days I went. I don’t know yet if I want to see it on the big screen though.

    1. My pleasure, Ruth 🙂 I’d love to guest post again if you’d have me?

      David Tennant introduced the film. I think Farrell is busy filming Total Recall. I didn’t know much about it but I’m glad I saw it. To be honest, I think seeing it on DVD at home would be just as good as at the cinema. There are a few action scenes but not a huge amount so I think a TV could cope 🙂

Leave a Reply

