Steven Spielberg talks Jurassic Park IV

“We have a story, I can happily announce,” Spielberg said to the cheering crowds in Hall H. “We have a writer who is writing the treatment and hopefully we are going to make Jurassic Park IV in all of your foreseeable futures – all of our foreseeable futures – hopefully, in the next two or three years.”

After reading this over at Empire, my initial reaction was that of excitement. Jurassic Park is one of my favourite films, as I explained over here. When it was released in 1993 it really was something special, as my bumper ‘Radio Times Guide to Films 2011′ explains: “Spielberg abandons stop-motion in favour of the newly tested Computer Generated Imagery (CGI) and the industry follows.”

However, I’m now having second thoughts… Jurassic Park is undoubtedly the best of the (so far) trilogy. I don’t really rate The Lost World – Jurassic Park (1997) and I only like Jurassic Park III (2001) because Sam Neill was back in it. Is it fourth trip back to the island really a good idea?

At the moment, we don’t know the plot and we don’t know who the writer(s) is. Will Spielberg direct or will he produce? Or, will he just receive ‘special thanks’? For now I’m going to keep an open mind and wait to see what else we hear in the coming months…

2 thoughts on “Steven Spielberg talks Jurassic Park IV”

  1. They are fab! I know it’s really naughty cloning dinosaurs but it would be amazing to see the magnificent beasts for real!

    In my opinion Jurassic Park is a terrific movie and has such an exciting plot.

Leave a Reply

