The best action hero. And drama, thriller, romance…

Leading on from my post about Arnold Schwarzenegger being, in my opinion, one of the best action stars, it got me thinking: which actors do I associate with each genre and out of them, who do I think is the best?

Using action as an example, the actors I most commonly associate with the genre are Arnie, Sylvester Stallone, Jean Claude van Damme and Bruce Willis. However, Harrison Ford and every actor who has played a superhero are also action stars!

With a slew of action films under his belt, including The Expendables and the Transporter series, Jason Statham is definitely a rising action star. I’d say the best of the bunch is Bruce Willis though Jason Statham is the man to watch.

So, moving on to the other genres this is what I’ve come up with. I’ve stuck to the main genres and I’ve decided to put comic book adaptations in to the science fiction genre. I’ll tackle actresses in a separate post…

  • Comedy

If you go old school then I’d say Leslie Nielsen, Eddie Murphy, Jim Carrey and Mike Myers were the leaders of the pack. In the late-1990s Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson and Adam Sandler took over. Nowadays Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, Paul Rudd and Seth Rogen are the ones to beat. Carrey, Stiller and Wilson are still about while Myers has recieved great success with his title role in the Shrek franchise.

The best: At the moment, the one actor who will always make me laugh is Steve Carell – the man is very, very funny!

Carell and co in action.
  • Drama

Now this genre is a tough one to pin point to just a few actors. A lot of films fall in to this genre anyway. For example, The Dark Knight is definitely a drama but, as its a comic book adaptation, it falls in to the science fiction genre, too. Likewise The Lord of the Rings trilogy is also a drama but falls in to the fantasy genre as well. Because of this, I’m not going to pick a favourite – there is simply too many to choose from!

  • Fantasy

If you say ‘name a fantasy film’ I guesstimate that 8 out of 10 people would say The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Not many actors stick to this genre, though. Off the top of my head, I don’t think any actors in The Lord of the Rings trilogy are in the Harry Potter franchise. Hmm… this feature is proving a lot harder to write than previously thought!

The best: I’ve decided to choose this actor because Gandalf was the perfect role for him – Ian McKellen.

He fought a balrog, dontcha know.
  • Horror

I’m not too hot on my horror films so I’m going to say it is a toss up between Robert Englund (Freddy Krueger), Nick Castle (1978’s Michael Myers) and Gunnar Hansen (1974’s Leatherface) because they portray the characters I always think of in relation to horror films. Directors, on the other hand, would be a lot easier – Wes Craven would be at the top of my list!

The best: Bit cheeky this but I’d have to say Michael Myers’ mask – I really don’t like masks and even just the sight of it makes me feel nervous!

  • Musical

Hand on heart time, I really don’t like musicals. Sure, I like Disney’s films and I love Moulin Rouge but, on the whole, I just don’t like musicals. Nicole Kidman was wonderful in Moulin Rouge and Catherine Zeta Jones has one hell of a voice in Chicago. But, as this is best actor it really narrows the field, especially when you don’t know many musicals…

The best: Because I didn’t know he could sing, the winner must be Johnny Depp for his great performance in 2007’s Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. Ewan McGregor has a beautiful voice in Moulin Rouge so he is a worthy runner up.

The infamous Sweeney Todd.
  • Romance

In the 1990s Julia Roberts and Meg Ryan were the Queens of Romance. Their leading men? Richard Gere and Tom Hanks, respectively. To be honest, I’m struggling to find an actor who did in the 2000s what Gere did to romance in the 1990s, if that makes sense!

The best: I know it’s a cop out but I have to go with Richard Gere and Tom Hanks. Pretty Woman and Sleepless in Seattle are two of my favourite films and are both wonderful romances.

  • Science fiction

Along with fantasy, this genre is my favourite. As I’ve decided to include comic book adaptations in this genre I certainly have a lot of actors to choose from! Comic book adaptations are really popular at the moment and the list of characters who have had their own film really is endless: Spider-Man, Batman, Superman, the Hulk, the Fantastic Four, Iron Man, the X-Men…

The best: It’s a toss up really between Patrick Stewart and Christian Bale. Stewart was spot on for Professor X while Bale is superb in his portrayal of a much darker and complex Batman.

  • Thriller

The triller genre is quite difficult to sum up. Like drama, many films also fall in to the thriller camp. Going back to The Dark Knight, for example, while science fiction it can also be called a drama, action and thriller. In my opinion, Inception and Black Swan are two of the best recent thrillers.

The best: I’m going to have to go for Leonardo Dicaprio. Sure, he’s been in quite a few action films but these days I always associate Leo with brilliantly-acted films which keep you on the edge of your seat and get you thinking.

2 thoughts on “The best action hero. And drama, thriller, romance…”

  1. Woah that is a mammoth of a task you undertook there Claire, and my word you did a cracking job..

    Just little cheat in the middle with the Mike Myers mask….hehe

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

