Brand new trailers for Contagion, The Thing and Hugo

Three of the most talked about trailers this week are Steven Soderbergh’s Contagion, Matthijs van Heijningen Jr’s The Thing and Martin Scorsese’s Hugo.

Contagion looks fantastic though it will definitely scare me in a it-just-might-happen kinda way. It has an impressive cast so I’ve got high hopes.

I’ve never seen the original The Thing, which was released in 1982 and starred Kurt Russell and Wilford Brimley. However, the trailer for this revamped The Thing looks very interesting. I’m not really a fan of horror movies (I get scared far too easily!) but I think I’d make an exception for this.

If you watched the Hugo trailer not knowing who the director is you’d never have guessed it was Martin Scorsese! The film is something very different from Scorsese and the trailer looks magical.

Trailer 1: Contagion

Starring: Matt Damon, Kate Winslet, Marion Cotillard, Jude Law, Gwyneth Paltrow, Laurence Fishburne
Release dates: 9th September (USA), 21st October (UK)

Watch at Apple Trailers here

Trailer 2: The Thing

Starring: Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Joel Edgerton and Ulrich Thomsen
Release dates: 14th October (USA and UK)

Watch at MSN Movies here

Trailer 3: Hugo

Starring: Jude Law, Chloe Moretz, Asa Butterfield
Release dates: 23rd November (USA), 2nd December (UK)

Watch at Apple Trailers here

7 thoughts on “Brand new trailers for Contagion, The Thing and Hugo”

  1. Wow, all those people trapped in the Arctic with a shape-shifting alien in a movie called The Thing. Great idea, I can’t believe it’s never been done before….

    …hang on. 😐

    1. Is it really, really scary the original? I’m no good with horror films but I’d quite like to see it. I’ve got time to watch it before this comes out… What do you reckon? Good idea, bad idea? (I’m guessing you’ve seen it 😛 )

      1. Wow, are you, like, a psychic or something? 😛

        It’s not too scary, but it is grisly. And if you’re planning on watching this new one then you MUST watch the original. Do you hear me? You MUST! 😉

  2. I’m not thrilled. It looks almost exactly like the original, except this one has……a woman! That seems to be the only difference, other than the accents.

    I shall hug my copy of the original and whisper to it that it’s still special and this new one means nothing to me. 😉

  3. CONTAGION trailer left me kinda disappointed, I guess I expected more thrills and a better atlmosphere, but I did like THE THING one. Just like you I also don’t like horrors, but when I do watch them I usually prefer the ones set in winter in some isolated place, and this one seems thrilling.

    1. Yeah, I agree with what you said about Contagion, Dezmond. It’s a good trailer but not great – it was quite slow and they give it away by saying Gwyneth dies!

      I agree about The Thing, too 😀 I don’t like out out gore but if it’s a film about actual monsters than I’d watch it.

Leave a Reply

