The Hobbit: first look at Fili and Kili

Earlier today – 12th July – MSN Entertainment released a photograph of another set of dwarven brothers from The Hobbit: Fili and Kili. Fili and Kili are Thorin Oakenshield’s nephews and the youngest dwarves in the Company.

Photo by James Fisher.

Peter Jackson and co have been very generous releasing the photographs of the cast. In the previous photographs you can really see family resemblances – Oin and Gloin have very similar noses. However, I was slightly taken back when I saw Fili and Kili.

First impression: Fili looks great; he looks like a bit of a prankster and I like the plaits in his hair. Kili looks like a man, not a dwarf; he is very thin and the sleek, flowing hair is more befitting of an elf than dwarf.

However, after reading other people’s comments on The Hobbit‘s page on Facebook and Cinema Blend I’ve had a rethink..

Second thoughts: Diversity is great. Subconciously, I probably was expecting 13 Gimli clones. However, I’m relieved that this is not the case. I completely agree with Josh Taylor at Cinema Blend: “Make them all, short, squat, surly guys with massive beards and they’ll all just blend together”.

In PJ I trust – I’m going to reread The Hobbit before the movies come out but it is important to remember that the movies are adaptations of the book and so will not necessarily be 100% exact. After seeing these photographs and the two production videos I reckon PJ is doing a great job.

Leave a Reply

