Joining the LOVEFiLM revolution

A quick look on the LOVEFiLM website reveals that it has been in business for seven years.

Until recently I had never used it and didn’t know anyone else who did. It seems, however, that I’m in the minority: in 2009, LOVEFiLM reached 1 million subscribers. Crikey.

I’ve signed up for the four DVDs a month and four hours online viewing option. So far, I’ve watched Vicky Cristina Barcelona and I Love You, Man. I had never watched either of the films before and that is basically why I wanted to join.

At home I have over 200 DVDs in my collection. I think I’ve watched maybe half of them, maybe more. However, there are plenty more films I want to watch that aren’t in my collection. 211, in fact.

I currently have 211 films on my rental list and they range from Bullitt to Crazy Heart and from Centurion to The Godfather.

The rental system is very simple: find the film you want to watch and click ‘rent’. It is then added to your rental list. As of 29th June 2011, there are 69,007 DVDs to choose from. It’s amazing that I managed to whittle it down to just 211!

Anyway, back to my two first rentals.

Vicky Cristina Barcelona is the story of Vicky (Rebbeca Hall) and Cristina (Scarlett Johansson), two American friends who spend the summer in Barcelona. Vicky is sensible and engaged to be married while Cristina is very passionate. Local painter Juan Antonio (Javier Bardem) enters their lives and suddenly everything becomes anything but simple, especially with the arrival of his ex-wife (Penelope Cruz).

On Metacric, Woody Allen’s film has scored 70/100. I would agree with that. I enjoyed the film but, to be honest, it wasn’t as ‘full on’ as I was expecting and I really did not like the unnecessary narrator. Cruz and Bardem are brilliant and the best part of the film. It is an enjoyable film but – considering its beautiful setting, cast and plot – it’s very obvious and, even though they seem free, the characters fit very well to stereotypes.

★★

I Love You, Man is the story of Peter Klaven. Peter has just got engaged but has a bit of a dilemma – who will be his best man? Instead of too many friends to choose from he has too few. He needs a new best friend but just how easy will it be to find one?

On Metacritic, I Love You, Man also scores 70/100. I’d give it 80-85. I really, really enjoyed it. Paul Rudd is one of my favourite actors and he is spot on as Peter. I enjoy comedies but never have very high expectations. However, I Love You, Man is very fresh and really surprised me.

The concept of a ‘bromance’ has never really been explored before – women always get in the way. For me, the most enjoyable part of Anchorman was the relationship between Ron Burgundy, Brian Fantana, Brick Tamland and Champ Kind, not Ron and Veronica Corningstone. I Love You, Man sticks with Peter and his quest for a best friend.

★★★★

Image from heanster‘s photostream.

2 thoughts on “Joining the LOVEFiLM revolution”

  1. LOVEFilm sounds awful! I have DVDs and hard drive recordings I haven’t watched and this would just add to them! 😉 Seriously it sounds great but I will not be joining – see previous sentence.

    I would not rate VCB so highly – I was really underwhelmed by it. Great cast, clever director, super setting, good story – what went wrong? It never quite seemed to all fit together and came across as the film equivilents of a short story stretched out to make a full length novel.

  2. I Love You Man is such a fun ride! Jason Segal and Paul Rudd have such awesome chemistry that it’s ridiculous. All I can say is, “Slappin DA Bass!”

    Cheers!
    G-LO

Leave a Reply

