Fantasy dinner party: Actors and characters

It’s a question that a lot of people have been asked: who would you invite to your fantasy dinner party?

Normally, it’s along the lines of:

  • either three/five people
  • they can be living or dead
  • either actors/sportspeople/politicians/etc or a mix

I’ve had a think and this is my fantasy dinner parties, one with actors/actresses (and a director) and one with film characters. These fantasy dinner parties are correct as of April 2011 – I’m sure they will change in the future when I’ve seen more films.

Actors/actresses

  1. Peter Jackson: Well, he’s the director of my favourite film so I know we have a love of Tolkien in common.
  2. Johnny Depp: He’s portrayed some of my favourites characters – hopefully he’d do a few improvs of them.
  3. Helen Mirren: She’s a multi award-winning actress and a true living legend.
  4. Christopher Lee: He has been in the some of the biggest franchises ever: Hammer Horror, Star Wars and The Lord of the Rings – he would have some very interesting stories regarding his +60 year career.
  5. Ian McKellen: One of my favourite actors, Ian is a man of many talents – I like to keep up-to-date with his blog where he writes about his acting and activism.

Film characters

  1. John Constantine: The man has been to hell and back so I’m sure he’d have one or two stories to share! I’m not sure how well he’d get on with the other guests, though. I imagine he’d be sitting in a corner smoking away…
  2. Austin Powers: I wouldn’t say that the Austin Powers trilogy is a particular favourite of mine, but I do love Austin Powers. Truly a product of the swinging Sixties, Austin would be great fun. Yeah baby, yeahhh!
  3. Han Solo: In my mind, Han is one of the coolest characters to have ever graced our screens – he’s arrogant and a bit of a jerk but is certainly a loveable rogue.
  4. Indiana Jones: Hmm, bearing in mind who No 3 is I’m not sure how this would work but never mind. The man is an icon. He has had a very interesting career, switching seamlessly from lecturer to adventurer.
  5. Gandalf the Grey: Through the course of The Lord of the Rings trilogy, Gandalf has quite a transformation. From the bumbling, cheery wizard who makes the fireworks in Fellowship of the Ring to leading the charge at Helm’s Deep in The Two Towers, there are a lot of sides to this character.

Ps, to get inspiration for your fantasy dinner party, check out Empire’s 100 Greatest Movie Characters here.

Image from eugene‘s photostream.

One thought on “Fantasy dinner party: Actors and characters”

Leave a Reply

