Favourites Friday – Harry Potter series

t is hard to believe that it is coming up to 10 years
since the release of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Harder still to believe that in June the book will be 14-years-old. To put it another way, I was nine when the book was released – smack bang in the target audience.

I didn’t get the book as soon as it came out though. However, maybe a year or two later, I do remember reading the first book, loving it and being surprised when my lovely mum asked me to open one of the cupboards in our living room and finding the first three or four books in there. I fell for the books; hook, line and sinker.

As you may have noticed in my posts, the fantasy genre is my poison of choice.

J K Rowling created a comprehensive, exciting and dangerous universe. Rowling’s imagination is incredible and I am very grateful she put pen to paper.

Everything has been thought of, from the different ways magic folk like to travel to the offensive nickname for those born to muggle (a member of the non-magical community) parents but have magical abilities.

I must make a confession though: it is only recently that my love for Harry Potter (well, I’m more of a Ron Weasley girl actually) has been rekindled.

Let me explain. While I did love the books, and did watch the films, another fantasy film series had started showing at the cinema: The Lord of the Rings.

After seeing The Fellowship of the Ring, I read the book. I then went and watched it at the cinema again and again and again…

Harry was replaced by Frodo.

At the time – well, at my school anyway – there were two camp: those who loved the Harry Potter series and those who loved The Lord of the Ring trilogy. I was firmly in the latter.

With the upcoming release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow: Part 1 back in November, I decided to order the boxset of the first six films so I was up-to-date to watch it. Two months, a few angry emails and a replacement copy later and I finally watched them. In fact, I watched all six in four days.

The spark was reignited.

It turns out I hadn’t been appreciating good old Harry as much as I should have. Perhaps it was watching them all in quick succession, perhaps it was because I hadn’t seen them since watching them at the cinema – I don’t know, but boy did I enjoy them.

Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint have done a brilliant job as Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley, and Warner Bros have truly brought the magic to life.

Pretty much every part of the story and scenery was as I expected when I originally read the series. Diagon Alley, Hogsmeade, Hogwarts and the Weasley house are top on my list of places I’d like to visit.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban remains both my favourite film and favourite book. Sirius Black is my absolute favourite character and I love Gary Oldman’s portrayal of him. After watching the boxset, Hermione has quickly risen the ranks and is now a firm second. Ron takes third, closely followed by the Weasley twins.

This week I watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow: Part 1 and really enjoyed it. Even though I am rather late in joining the fanclub, I am a little sad that the film series is drawing to a close. Similarly, I was rather sad when I finished the last sentence on the last page in the book.

I believe that the Harry Potter series is a huge credit to J K Rowling. The film adaptations are also a credit to, what must be, the thousand-large team. Even though I am a muggle, the Harry Potter universe suits me down to the ground.

Leave a Reply

