Happy birthday, Ridley Scott!

Today – 30th November – is the 74th birthday of the wonderful Ridley Scott.

Scott is the man behind some of my favourite films, including Alien and Blade Runner. He’s also the man who brought you Thelma and LouiseGI Jane, Black Hawk Down, Gladiator and Robin Hood – I think it’s safe to say that his films are certainly varied!

Scott, who made his first feature film at 40 (The Duellists), is currently working on Prometheus, which stars Noomi Rapace, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender and Idris Elba. A trailer leaked last week but I’ve steered clear of it… I’m looking forward to this film and don’t want to spoil it by seeing a poor quality trailer.

Though not confirmed as a prequel to Alien, Fassbender reportedly said that there is definitely a link to the 1979 film. The current synopsis on IMDb explains that Prometheus is about a team of explorers who discover a clue to the origins of mankind on Earth, leading them on a journey to the darkest corners of the universe.

Another hot topic on everyone’s lips is the news of a Blade Runner sequel.

In an interview with the Wall Street Journal’s Speakeasy blog, Scott said Blade Runner 2 is liable to be a sequel: “I think I’m close to finding a writer that might be able to help me deliver…”.

With these two exciting projects in the works I think it’s safe to say that Scott certainly isn’t slowing down any time soon.

  • Which film are you most excited about?
11 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Ridley Scott!

  1. Alien is one of my all time favourite films so I have a lot of respect for Ridley Scott. It is a shame the new film isn’t a direct prequel to Alien but I’m sure it’ll be a good film as Scott’s got a wonderful eye for science-fiction, particularly the look and feel of the films. Thanks for letting me know it is his birthday, I’ll have to think of a top 10 quick! :)

  2. Ah Ridley Scott. While I haven’t liked his recent films (Robin Hood, American Gangster), I love Alien, Blade Runner, and Gladiator. Glad he is going back to the Sci-Fi universe though.

    • The sequel will definitely look very, very different. Technology has moved on so much since Blade Runner. When TRON: Legacy came out it put TRON to shame visually but I still didn’t enjoy the film as much – if that makes sense! I think the same might happen with the Blade Runner sequel.

  3. Happy belated birthday Mr. Scott! I like his work, my fave is probably Gladiator but really looking forward to Prometheus. Nice tribute Claire!

Leave a Reply

