Deathly Hallows: Part 2 hits $1 billion mark

I don’t really pay that much attention to box office figures but when I heard this news on Box Office Mojo, I thought I’d investigate:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 hit $1 billion on its 19th day in theaters, which tied Avatar‘s record for fastest to reach that level.”

$1 billion is roughly £614.4 million. Crikey.

To put that in to perspective, I looked up what else would cost about £600 million. A country pile in Oxfordshire with six bedrooms, six reception rooms and seven bathrooms would cost £7 million. However, this is cheap in comparison to the six bedroom, six bathroom and five living room property – complete with swimming pool, tennis court and golf course – I found for sale at £14 million in Berkshire. It’s still not £600 million though…

Hmmm, how about cars? I think the Aston Martin DB9 is pretty sexy. You can pick one up for about £120,000. So, I could buy 10 DB9s and my houses in Oxfordshire and Berkshire and still have about  £577 million remaining. Wow, this is more difficult than I thought!

Let’s compare this magical $1 billion to other films. According to Box Office Mojo, Avatar was released for 34 weeks (238) and has a total worldwide lifetime gross of $2.8 billion. The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King was released for 24.3 weeks (170 days) and brought in a total worldwide lifetime gross of $1.1 billion.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 reached the $1 billion mark on its 19th day of release. I wonder where the figure will lie after 170 days and 238 days..!

4 thoughts on “Deathly Hallows: Part 2 hits $1 billion mark

  1. Love this. I had a look. I thought buying a whole Island would come close, but the most expensive one I could find was a huge one (Isle of Wight?) in the Bahamas for $80m. So we still have change.

    Madness!!

    nice post my friend

    • I know! It’s a seriously huuuuge amount of money!

      I wonder if there is a site you can find out how many tickets are sold… I’m sure that figure would be in the hundreds of thousands!

  2. Hi Claire. That is outstanding for any movie to reach that much, and this is just ONE movie!! No wonder JK Rowling has been buying real estate left and right, she could buy the entire country! :D

    • Indeed she could! Why stop at real estate though… could buy islands, cars, horses, planes, boats :D

      Have you read the books Ruth? In a way JK is similar to Dan, Emma and Rupert – every one is wondering what she’ll do next!

Leave a Reply

